
   
 
   

 
 

 

PREMIUM TAX INSTRUCTIONS 
CAPTIVE INSURERS 

 
All tax filings and payments must be received on or before March 1, 2016; the Department does not accept the 
postmark date.  No authority exists for granting any extension of time for filing or payment.  Any insurer that 
fails to report or pay tax will be subject to penalty in accordance with ACA 26-57-607. 
 
The Department does not accept software forms.  The forms must be completed and printed on our website.  
www.insurance.arkansas.gov/accounting/divpage.htm 
 
If you are filing by EFT, send the additional documents from the checklist to the address below 
with the name of the company and NAIC number clearly identified. 
 
 
Mail the return, documentation, and check to: Arkansas Insurance Department 
       Accounting Division 
       1200 West Third Street 
       Little Rock AR  72201-1904 
 
For questions concerning the completion of tax forms, contact the Accounting Division at (501) 371-2605 or 
email us at:  insurance.accounting@arkansas.gov 
 
 
CI-T CHECKLIST: 
 

1. 2015 FORM AID AC CI-T (ANNUAL REPORT OF PREMIUMS, TAXES AND FEES); WITH 
CHECK ATTACHED 
 

2. 1 COPY OF 2015 ARKANSAS STATE BUSINESS PAGE 
 

3. 1 COPY OF SCHEDULE T 
 
 

DO NOT INCLUDE WITH THE PREMIUM TAX FILINGS: 
 
CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX: Remit to the Secretary of State’s Office, Attention: Lisa Bruno, 
     1401 Capitol Ave., Victory Bldg., Suite 250, Little Rock AR  72201. 
     MAIL TO ADDRESS ON THE FORM 
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ACCOUNTING DIVISION 
1200 WEST THIRD STREET 
LITTLE ROCK, AR  72201-1904 

PHONE:  (501) 371-2605 
www.insurance.arkansas.gov 

 ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT                                2015 FORM AID AC CI-T 
 

http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/
mailto:insurance.accounting@arkansas.gov


INSTRUCTIONS FOR AID AC CI-T (Annual Report Of Premiums, Taxes, And Fees) 
 

 
For a branch captive insurer, only premium received by the branch itself is to be reported.
 
Affordable Neighborhood Housing Tax Credit   § 15-5-1303, 15-5-1304   

Insurers that perform affordable housing assistance activities may take a premium tax credit for up to 
30% of the total amount invested and not to exceed $750,000 in any taxable year.  Program must 
meet standards of and be approved by Arkansas Development Finance Authority.  
ATTACH ELIGIBILITY STATEMENT. 
 

Low-Income Housing Tax Credit   § 26-51-1702   
Insurers are allowed a state income or premium tax credit equal to 20% of the federal low-income 
housing tax credit not to exceed $250,000 in any taxable year.  The credit is available for insurers that 
own an interest in a qualified project for which the Arkansas Development Finance Authority has issued 
an eligibility statement.  ATTACH ELIGIBILITY STATEMENT. 

 
Coal Mining Enterprise Credit  § 26-51-511   

Coal mining enterprises or eligible transferees are eligible for a tax credit if the coal was sold to an 
electric generation plant for less than $40.00 per ton excluding freight charges. 
 

Equity Investment Incentive Tax Credit § 15-4-3301, et seq. 
Insurers are allowed a state income or premium tax credit for certain qualified equity investments up to 
50% of    net income or premium tax liability.  The certified statement of the insurer, described in 
§ 15-4-3305, and a tax credit certificate issued by the Arkansas Economic Development 
Commission must be submitted with the premium tax return. 
   

Capital Development Corporation Tax Credit  § 15-4-1026, 15-4-1029(f)(1) 
Person who purchases an equity interest in a capital development company between 2003 through 
2013 is entitled to a credit against any state income tax liability or premium tax liability, which may be 
imposed on the purchaser for any tax year commencing with the tax year, which is two years after the 
date of the purchase.  The credit shall be equal to thirty-three and one-third (33 1/3) of the actual 
purchase price paid for the equity interest to the company, including any fees or commissions to 
underwriters or sales agents paid by the company.  No fees or commissions in excess of fifteen percent 
(15%) of the total purchase price may be considered in calculating the amount of the credit.  In any 
one-tax year, the credit shall not exceed fifty percent (50%) of the net state income tax liability or 
premium tax liability of the taxpayer after all other credits or reductions in tax have been calculated.  
No credit under this section is allowed for any tax year after December 31, 2019. Upon dissolution, if 
the proceeds from the purchase of the equity interest have not been used for the purposes stated in 
§ 15-4-1016 or for operating expenses, then each person who previously claimed a tax credit with 
respect to that purchase, the tax imposed for the year the dissolution occurs shall be increased by the 
tax credit amount associated with the unused purchase proceeds. 

ATTACH ELIGIBILITY STATEMENT.  
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ANNUAL REPORT OF PREMIUMS, TAXES, AND FEES OF ALL 
CAPTIVE INSURANCE COMPANIES 

 
A.    COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX:         
 

1.  Total Direct Premiums as described in ACA 23-63-1614(a) $___________________ 

 

     a.  $1.00 - $20,000,000.00 X .250%                                     $___________________ 
  

                 b.  $20,000,001.00 - $40,000,000.00 X .150%                             $___________________ 
 

     c. EACH DOLLAR THEREAFTER X .050%                                                                   $___________________      
 
               d.  Net premium tax due (a thru c)                                                                            $___________________ 
 
      

 
 2. Reinsurance Written      $___________________ 

 

     a. $1.00 - $20,000,000.00 X .225%                                                                       $___________________ 
 

     b. $20,000,001.00 - $40,000,000.00 X .150%     $___________________ 
 

     c. $40,000,001.00 - $60,000,000.00 X .050%              $___________________ 
 

               d. Each dollar thereafter X .025%                                                      $___________________ 

 
     e. Net premium tax due (a thru d)                                                                       $___________________ 

 
 3.  SUBTOTAL 1(D) + 2(E)                   $________________ 
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                                                                                                             NAIC COMPANY CODE (5 digit code) 

  COMPANY NAME 

  MAILING ADDRESS 

 

  CONTACT PERSON                                                                                  TITLE 

  TELEPHONE NUMBER                                                      EXT                                               FAX NUMBER 

  EMAIL ADDRESS                                                                                       

ACCOUNTING DIVISION 
1200 WEST THIRD STREET 
LITTLE ROCK, AR  72201-1904 

PHONE:  (501) 371-2605 
www.insurance.arkansas.gov 

ACCOUNTING DIVISION 
DUE MARCH 1, 2016 

___ ORIGINAL FILING 
 

___ AMENDED FILING 
 

____REFUND DUE 

 

  ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT                                  2015 FORM AID AC CI-T 



  
 

 

 

 
B.    CREDITS: 

  

       4.  Affordable Neighborhood Housing Credit      $(___________________) 
 

     5.  Low Income Housing Tax Credit       $(___________________) 
 

     6.  SUBTOTAL A(3) LESS B(4,5)        $____________________ 

 
     7.  Capital Development Corporation Tax Credit     $(___________________) 

 
         8.  Coal Mining Enterprise Credit          $(___________________) 

 
    9.  Equity Investment Incentive Tax Credit      $(___________________)  

 

  10.  NET PREMIUM TAX              $_________________ 
   AMOUNT CANNOT BE LESS THAN ZERO 

 
  
 C.   PRODUCERS REINSURANCE CAPTIVES: 

 

 If a producer reinsurance captive qualifies for tax exemption under ACA 23-63-1614(J), complete the 
following and proceed to Section D 

 

   Calculation of Investment Tax Exemption for Producers Reinsurance Captives: 
 

 (1) Qualified Certificate of Deposits: (ATTACH LIST)  $______________ 

 
           

(2) Bonds, Notes Warrants, or Other Securities Not In Default:  $______________ 
     State (ATTACH LIST) 

 
County, Incorporated City or Town, Duly Organized School District or 

      Other Taxing District of the State: (ATTACH LIST) 

 
Local Improvement Districts in Arkansas: (ATTACH LIST) 

 
 

(3)  TOTAL ASSESTS AS OF 12/31/15 (1 + 2)                     $_______________ 
 
  
D.   CALCULATION OF NET PAYMENT DUE: 

 

 11.   Net Premium Tax - SEE BELOW             $____________________* 
 
 12.   Fees              $                        300.00  

 
 13.   NET PAYMENT DUE (lines 11 + 12)           $____________________ 

 
 

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO STATE TREASURER OF ARKANSAS AND ATTACH TO FORM. 
 

 IF LINE 11 IS GREATER THAN $5,000.00, ENTER NET PREMIUM TAX, NOT TO EXCEED $100,000.00
 IF LINE 11 IS LESS THAN $5,000.00, ENTER NET PREMIUM TAX $5,000.00
 THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO INSURERES EXEMPT FROM PREMIUM TAX UNDER 23-63-1614(J)       
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  COMPANY NAME__________________________________             2015 FORM AID AC CI-T 
  



 
 
 
 

AFFIDAVIT 
 

STATE OF _______________________      COUNTY OF ______________________ 
 

 

COMES_______________________________________________________________________ AND STATES ON OATH THAT 
 

 
 

HE/SHE IS THE _____________________________ OF _________________________________________________________ 
               (TITLE)                                                                      (NAME OF COMPANY) 

 
AND THAT THE FOREGOING STATEMENTS ARE TRUE AND CORRECT AS SHOWN BY THE RECORDS OF SAID COMPANY. 

   

 
 

        ______________________________________________ 
              (ORIGINAL SIGNATURE OF OFFICER) 

 
 

 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO OR AFFIRMED BEFORE ME, THE UNDERSIGNED NOTARY PUBLIC, ON THIS THE  

 
 

________________ DAY OF _______________________, 20_____. 
 

 
        ____________________________________ 

_______________________________________________  MY COMMISSION EXPIRES 
  NOTARY 
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 COMPANY NAME__________________________________                               2015 FORM AID AC CI-T 
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