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Rev. 6/2006 
ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  

LICENSE DIVISION  
1200 WEST 3RD STREET  

LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201  
PHONE: 501-371-2750  

FAX: 501-683-2604 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION AS A PROVIDER 
OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 
 

Provider Application: 
 
Your first Course Application is your Provider Application.  However, since the application does 
not speak to a provider application, you will need to provide a cover letter telling something 
about your business/school, i.e. history, qualifications, and what you offer the agents in the way 
of education.  In the cover letter, please include your fax number, the name of the contact person 
to whom our Provider Coordinator will contact with their phone number, also a listing of all 
authorized to sign persons and a sample of their signature and stamp if applicable.  This 
Department will generate confirmation of approval.   
 
If you are a third party submitting on behalf of a provider, please be sure to make it clear that 
you are not the provider and who the provider is.  We will need to know to whom all 
verifications are to be sent and the contact person.   
 
There is a $100.00 filing fee renewable yearly in September (renewal forms are mailed every 
July).  During that year the provider may submit as many course and instructor applications as 
they wish.  Please make check payable to “ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT TRUST 
FUND.” 
 
Submit to: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
  LICENSE DIVISION 
  1200 WEST THRID STREET 
  LITTLE ROCK AR  72201 
 
Course Provider Approval:  

 
1. Pursuant to Act 652 of 1993 and Emergency Rule and Regulation 57, effective May 15, 

1993 each original registration of a course provider for agent continuing education must 
be accompanied by a check or money order in the amount of $100.00 made payable to 
“ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT TRUST FUND.”  The annual registration 
shall be on September 1, thereafter. 

 
2. All forms must be typed.  Application for approval as a provider shall be submitted to the 

License Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department not less than sixty (60) days 
prior to the expected use of the program.  A provider shall include the following 
information. 
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A. Detailed description of the subject of the program or course including a course 

outline, list of any resource materials and list of speakers or instructors. 
 

B. Completion of Appendices A and B for the initial certification, and completion of 
Appendix C upon any change in curriculum or instructor. 

 
C. Schedules of classes for all locations. 

 
3. Changes in class schedules are to be filed with the Insurance Department no later than 

two (2) weeks before such program or course is offered. 
 
Instructor Approval: 
 
All forms must be typed.  Instructors must be approved prior to teaching any course, or part of a 
course, by the State Insurance Commissioner.  Applicants for approval as an instructor shall 
complete and submit Appendix C and Appendix D to the License Division of the Arkansas 
Insurance Department. 
 
Evidence of CE Completion: 
 
Effective June 15, 2006, course providers are no longer required to issue Appendix E, 
Certificates of Completion.  Instead, filing of CE completion will be evidenced by the course 
provider filing with the Department an Appendix H roster within fifteen (15) days from the 
completion of the course instruction.  Upon the specific request of producers, course providers 
may continue to issue Certificates of Completion or other evidence of course completion, but no 
filing of such is to be made with the Department. 
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Agency # 054.00 
 

EMERGENCY 2006 
RULE 50 

PRODUCERS CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
SECTION 
 
1. Purpose 
2. Authority 
3. Exemptions 
4. Educational Requirements 
5. Course Provider Approval 
6. Instructor Qualifications 
7. Program Review 
8. Fees and Compliance 
9. Penalties 
10. Severability 
11. Effective Date and Applicability 
 
APPENDICES 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

APPENDIX A Course Application for Continuing Education 
APPENDIX B Course Valuation 
APPENDIX C Change in Curriculum or Instructor 
APPENDIX D Application for Approval as Instructor 
APPENDIX E Individual Certificate of Completion (no longer mandated) 
APPENDIX F Request for Exemption 
APPENDIX G Affidavit of Proctor 
APPENDIX H Continuing Education Providers Reporting Roster 

 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
SECTION 1.  PURPOSE 
 
The purpose of Emergency Rule 50 is to establish requirements and standards for continuing education 
for natural persons licensed as insurance producers (“producers”) by the Arkansas Insurance 
Commissioner (the “Commissioner”). 
 
SECTION 2.  AUTHORITY 
 
This Emergency Rule is issued under the authority vested in the Commissioner by Ark. Code Ann. §23-
61-108, and the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, codified at Ark. Code Ann. §§25-15-201, et 
seq., and Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-304(a), as amended by Act 1203 of 2003 and Act 1697 of 2005. 
 
SECTION 3  EXEMPTIONS 
 
A. This Rule shall not apply to the following individuals: 

 
1. Persons holding licenses for which an examination is not required; 
2. Adjusters and limited adjusters; 
3. Any limited or restricted license the Commissioner may exempt; 
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4. Any person, licensed as a resident producer prior to July 1, 2003, who is at least sixty 
(60) years of age; 

5. Any person, licensed as a resident producer prior to July 1, 2003, who has held a license 
as a producer, insurance consultant or broker for a period of at least fifteen (15) 
consecutive years; 

6. Third-party administrators who do not solicit business; 
7. Non-resident producers, non-resident consultants, and/or non-resident adjusters; 
8. Licensed insurance consultants; 
9. Nonresident producers in the first full year of resident licensing following the year after a 

change in the state of domicile or residency to the State of Arkansas; but thereafter 
annually or otherwise in accordance with insurance continuing education laws, and rules 
of the Commissioner; 

10. Any producer called to active duty in any branch of the United States military services 
including, but not limited to, the United States Coast Guard and Reserves, during the 
entire period of active duty service; 

11. The exceptions contained in Subsections (A)(4) and (5) of this Section are no longer 
applicable to insurance producers who became resident licensees after July 1, 2003, or 
insurance producers who have let the Arkansas producer license lapse and have become 
re-licensed; and 

12. Individuals (or an appointed guardian or person with an appropriately worded power of 
attorney) with grave or debilitating illnesses or injuries  may write for an extension for no 
more than twelve (12) months, for completion of the annual CE hours required for a 
particular calendar year.  The request must be accompanied by a written doctor’s 
statement confirming the medical history under review and with a medical estimate as to 
how long the individual will be unable to function normally enough to complete the rule 
requirements.  The request from the producer must include his/her mail or electronic mail 
note that he/she is voluntarily waiving the private or confidential nature of the illness or 
injury in order to qualify for this extension.  With similar documentation, including a 
signed note from the attending physician and a privacy waiver from and signed by the 
patient, producers (or the relative’s appointed guardian or person with an appropriately 
worded power of attorney) may also file for an extension due to the terminal or 
debilitating illness of a grandparent, parent, spouse, sibling, or child.  The Commissioner 
has discretion to grant such time extensions for good cause under Ark. Code Ann. §23-
64-304(b), but only up to one (1) year; and may deny requests from any producer failing, 
or who has in the past failed, to comply with Arkansas laws or rules, or failed to comply 
within any extended time period granted by the Commissioner under this subsection. 

 
B. Newly licensed producers for the initial full line of authority must be licensed for one (1) full year 

prior to renewal of the license, before continuing education requirements are imposed.  Example:  
If a new producer becomes licensed in June of 2005, and the expiration of the license is February 
2, 2006, the producer must pay the renewal fee, but continuing education is not due until 
February 2, 2007, because the exemption period of one (1) year has not been reached prior to the 
2006 expiration date. 

 
 
 
SECTION 4.  EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
A. Number of Course Hours 
 

Upon the effective date of this Emergency Rule, any non-exempt persons licensed as producers 
shall, annually on or before their birthday, complete those courses of instruction approved by the 
Commissioner and equivalent to the following: 
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1. A total of eight (8) hours of instruction which must include one (1) hour of ethics for a 

life and/or accident and health line(s) of authority; 
2. A total of eight (8) hours of instruction which must include one (1) hour of ethics for a 

property and/or casualty line(s) of authority; 
3. A total of eight (8) hours of instruction which must include one (1) hour of ethics for 

personal lines of authority; and 
4. A total of ten (10) hours of instruction which must include one (1) hour of ethics for 

producers holding dual licenses for life and/or accident and health as well as property 
and/or casualty and/or personal lines. 

 
B. Course Approval 
 

Subject to submission and approval of the Commissioner, the courses or programs of instruction 
successfully completed which shall be deemed to meet the Commissioner's standards for 
continuing education requirements are: 

 
1. Any part of the Life Underwriting Training Council Life Courses Curriculum and Health 

Courses; 
2. Any part of the American College "CLU" diploma curriculum; 
3. Any part of the Insurance Institute of America's Program in general insurance; 
4. Any part of the American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters' Chartered 

Property Casualty Underwriter professional designated program; 
5. Any part of the Certified Insurance Counselor Program; 
6. Any course offered by Certified Health Consultant; 
7. Any course offered by Registered Health Consultant; 
8. Any insurance related course approved by the Commissioner and offered by an 

accredited college or university; 
9. Any course or program of instruction, seminar, or meeting sponsored by any authorized 

insurer, recognized producers’ association, insurance trade association, or any 
independent program of instruction; 

10. Any correspondence courses, including, but not limited to, correspondence courses 
offered via the Internet, subject to the following: 
 
a. All correspondence courses must have a sealed and numbered written 

examination which measures the licensee's knowledge of the information.  
Course providers may also add oral or electronic correspondence courses, with 
oral or electronic examinations.  Electronic filings with the Arkansas Insurance 
Department’s License Division (“License Division”) are encouraged and 
permitted; 

b. All correspondence course examinations must be proctored; 
c. Proctors must provide an affidavit attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

correspondence or electronic course examination was proctored, that the 
examination was provided in a manner specified by the correspondence course 
provider, and that they are not part of or aware of any efforts to circumvent the 
requirements of the examination, as provided in Appendix G; 

d. Appendix G must accompany the filing of the Appendix H roster with the 
License Division.  Correspondence course providers shall maintain all records or 
electronic copies of records on proctors and proctored examinations; 

e. Proctors or instructors must be a disinterested third party and shall not serve for 
examinations of:  family members or relatives or dependents, employers or 
supervisors, employees or subordinates, partners or joint ventures or co-owners, 
current or former teachers or pupils, neighbors or personal friends or significant 
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others, or for anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other 
interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination; 

f. Course providers' filings must explain how correspondence course exams will 
not be duplicated for any two (2) test takers; and 

g. Correspondence courses approved and subsequently purchased by the producer, 
prior to the effective date of this Emergency Rule, may be governed by this Rule; 
however course providers must contact the License Division to reconfirm credit 
hours 

11. Any other course or program approved by the Commissioner. 
12. Subject to approval by the Commissioner, the active annual membership of the licensed 

producer in local, regional, state, or national professional insurance organizations or 
associations may be approved for up to two (2) annual hours of instruction.  These hours 
shall be credited upon timely filing with the Commissioner or his designee appropriate 
written evidence acceptable to the Commissioner of such active membership in the 
organization or association. 

 
C. Course Hour Valuation 

 
1.  The Commissioner shall assign the number of continuing education hours for which 

approved courses qualify. 
2. Key Components – Filings must include and clearly demonstrate: 

a. Material that is current, relevant, accurate, and that includes valid reference 
materials, graphics and interactivity; 

b. Clearly defined objectives and course completion criteria; 
c. Specific instructions to register, navigate, and complete the course work. 
d. Technical support/provider representative available during business hours; 
e. Process to authenticate student identity; and 
f. Method for measuring the student’s successful completion of course material and 

for evaluating the learning experience. 
3. Acceptable Procedures to determine Appropriate Number of Credit Hours - Select and 

File one (1) of three (3) Methods below per Course: 
a. Method A: 

i. 600-700 words (standard font size) = one (1) text page; 
ii. Textbooks/workbooks/other printed material – one (1) credit for every 

fifteen (15) pages; 
iii. Three (3) screens with an aggregate total of approximately 600-700 

words – one (1) text page; 
iv. Forty-five (45) screens – one (1) hour of credit; 

 v. Divide total screens by forty-five (45) – total number of credit hours; 
iv. Multiply number of hours by 1.00 for a basic level course; 1.25 for an 

intermediate level; 1.50 for an advanced course for additional study time 
= total number of credit hours (fractional hours rounded up if .50 or 
above and rounded down if .49 or less). 

b. Method B: 
i. Divide total number of words by one hundred eighty (180) (documented 

average reading time) = number of minutes to read material; 
ii. Divide number of minutes by fifty (50) = credit hours; 
iii. Multiply number of hours by 1.00 for a basic level course; 1.25 for an 

intermediate level; 1.50 for an advanced course for additional study time 
= total number of credit hours (fractional hours rounded up if .50 or 
above and rounded down if .49 or less). 

c. Method C 
Oral Presentations:  Providers may use the timed outline method for speeches and 
other oral presentations intended for continuing education credits.  Providers 
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should file a detailed description of the proposed subject of the program or 
course, including a timed course outline, list of any resource materials, and list of 
speakers or instructors or proctors. 

 
D. Certificates and Evidence of CE Completion 
 

Certificates of Completion (see Appendix E) which were issued to producers prior to the effective 
date of Emergency Rule 50 will be valid for filing with the Commissioner for two (2) years from 
the date of the completion of the course.  On the effective date of Emergency Rule 50 course 
providers will no longer be required to issue Certificates of Completion.  Instead, filing of CE 
completion will be evidenced by the course provider filing with the Department an Appendix H 
roster within fifteen (15) days from the completion of the course of instruction.  Upon the specific 
request of producers, course providers may continue to issue Certificates of Completion or other 
evidence of course completion, but no filing of such is to be made with the Department. 

 
E. Course Repetition 
 

Courses may not be repeated within a 2-year period of time.  This does not apply to one (1) hour 
ethics courses. 

 
SECTION 5.  COURSE PROVIDER APPROVAL 

 
A. Forms.  The following forms are prescribed by the Commissioner and are attached as exhibits to 

this Emergency Rule.  All forms are available upon request to the Department or via the 
Department’s web site at: 

http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/License/divpage.htm 
 

APPENDIX A Course Application for Continuing Education 
APPENDIX B Course Valuation 
APPENDIX C Change in Curriculum or Instructor 
APPENDIX D Application for Approval as Instructor 
APPENDIX E Individual Certificate of Completion (no longer mandated) 
APPENDIX F Request for Exemption 
APPENDIX G Affidavit of Proctor 
APPENDIX H Continuing Education Providers Reporting Roster 

 
B. Application for approval as a provider shall be submitted to the License Division not less than 

sixty (60) days prior to the expected use of the program.  A provider shall include the following 
information in duplicate: 
 
1. Detailed description of the subject of the program or course including a course outline, 

list of any resource materials, and list of speakers or instructors. 
2. Completion of Appendices A and B and D for the initial certification, and completion of 

Appendices C and D upon any change in curriculum or instructor or proctor.  
Additionally, the Commissioner will accept, in lieu of Appendix “A” to this Rule, the 
most recent edition “Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing Form” 
published by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.  Similarly, the 
Commissioner may accept, in lieu of Appendices “B” through “H” to this Rule, the most 
recent editions of comparable forms published by the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. 

3. Schedules of classes, seminars and meetings for all locations. 
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C. Changes in schedules are to be filed with the Insurance Department no later than two (2) weeks 
before such program or course is offered. 

 
SECTION 6.  INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS 
 
A. A person teaching any approved course of instruction or lecturing at any approved seminar or 

meeting shall qualify for one (1) hour credit for each hour presenting and/or attendance. 
 

B. Instructors must have had specific insurance training or educational experiences satisfactory and 
approved by the Commissioner in order to be certified to teach any part of any approved course.  
Each instructor must have two (2) or more years of specific insurance experience and/or 
education related to and in each part of the insurance training program in which he instructs and 
must be approved prior to teaching any course, or any part of a course, by the Commissioner.  
Applicants for approval as an instructor shall complete and submit Appendix D to the License 
Division. 
 

C. No person will be approved as an instructor who has received disciplinary action by the Arkansas 
Insurance Department, the Insurance Department of another state, or any similar regulatory body 
or court.  The Commissioner shall have the authority to waive this requirement for good cause 
shown in a written filing. 

 
SECTION 7.  PROGRAM REVIEW 
 
Representatives of the Insurance Commissioner shall have the authority to visit a course or program and 
review its offering at any time including, but not limited to, curriculum records and attendance records. 
 
 
SECTION 8.  FEES AND COMPLIANCE 
 
A. For each completed course, an approved course provider shall file with the Commissioner or 

his/her designee a roster in hard copy or electronic form as prescribed in Appendix H.  The course 
provider shall file the Appendix H roster with the Commissioner in a timely manner, but not later 
than fifteen (15) days from the completion of the course of instruction.  A vendor is an individual, 
corporation, or legal entity hired by the Commissioner to facilitate the electronic functions of this 
Rule. The Commissioner may require providers to submit the course providers’ Appendix H per 
course on an electronic medium to the Department, or may require the provider to submit 
information to an outside vendor or other parties contracting with the Commissioner to maintain 
and update insurance licensees' continuing education data. 

 
B. Every person/producer subject to this Rule shall tender a CE filing fee in the manner and at the 

time as directed by the Commissioner or by a vendor of the Commissioner.  On or before their 
birthdate each year, Arkansas resident producers who are required to meet continuing education 
requirements, must pay an annual $10.00 continuing education filing fee, simultaneously with the 
other fees required to renew or continue licensure. 
 

C. Excess educational hours accumulated during any annual period may be carried forward only to 
the next annual period.  Continuing education carried forward to the following calendar year shall 
expire upon commencement of the third annual period following completion of the hours. 
 

D. For good cause shown, the Commissioner may grant an extension of time during which the 
requirements may be completed. 
 

SECTION 9.  PENALTIES 
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A. Upon failure of any producer to comply with Ark. Code Ann. §§23-64-301, et seq., the 
Commissioner shall take the steps enumerated in Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-304(d) against such 
individual's license.  Failure to comply with this Rule may result in imposition of penalties 
contained in §23-64-216, as amended, or other applicable laws or rules. 

 
B. Any licensee fined under Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-304(d) may request that the Commissioner seal 

the licensee’s records regarding the fine.  The underlying conduct of any licensee whose record 
has been sealed under §23-64-304 shall be deemed as a matter of law to have never occurred, and 
the licensee may state that the conduct or fine never occurred. 

 
SECTION 10.  SEVERABILITY 
 
Any section or provision of this Emergency Rule held by the court to be invalid or unconstitutional will 
not affect the validity of any other section or provision. 
 
SECTION 11.  EFFECTIVE DATE AND APPLICABILITY 
 
The purpose of Emergency Rule 50 is to replace in its entirety Department Rule 50, “Producers 
Continuing Education”, which was issued by the Commissioner on April 27, 2006 with an effective date 
of May 1, 2006.  Emergency Rule 50 shall be effective on June 15, 2006 and shall be applicable to those 
persons licensed to act as an insurance producer or continuing education course provider, or proctor, who 
must comply with Ark. Code Ann. §§23-64-301, et seq., and other laws for continuation of producers’ 
licenses and for the sale of the following types of insurance: 
 
A. Life, and/or accident and health insurance. 
B. Property and/or casualty insurance. 
C. Personal lines. 
 
 
 
 
      (signed by Julie Benafield Bowman)   
  
      ____________________________________ 
      JULIE BENAFIELD BOWMAN 
      INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
      STATE OF ARKANSAS 
        
      (June 5, 2006) 
      _____________________________________ 
      DATE 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
APPENDIX A 

COURSE APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT 
FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 

 
COURSE PROVIDER NAME___________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER NUMBER________________________________________________________________________ 

CONTACT PERSON _________________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER ADDRESS ___________________________________CITY/STATE/ZIP_____________________ 

PHONE (      )_________________________ E-MAIL_______________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

COURSE TITLE/NAME       DATE OF COURSE 

(ATTACH APPENDIX B) 

LOCATION_______________________________CITY/STATE_________________________ZIP___________ 

INSTRUCTOR ____________________________________ TELEPHONE ______________________________ 

QUALIFICATIONS OF INSTRUCTOR, INCLUDE RESUME (APPENDIX D) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

QUALIFICATIONS OF PROCTOR (ATTACH) 

METHOD OF INSTRUCTION: 
_____  Classroom/Lecture  _____  Correspondence  _____  Employee Training 

_____  Seminar   _____  Professional Association _____  College/University 

_____  Other  ________________________________________________________________________________ 

Number of Hours of Instruction or Classroom Hours _________________________________________________ 

Total Number of Continuing Education credit hours requested __________________________________________ 

METHOD OF DETERMINING SATISFACTORY COMPLETION: 

____  Examination  ____  Attendance ____  Report ____  Other __________________________ 

NAMES AND SIGNATURES OF REPRESENTATIVES AUTHORIZED TO SIGN CERTIFICATES OF 

COMPLETION: 

______________________________   ____________________________________________ 
Name (Type or Print)    Signature 
 
______________________________   ____________________________________________ 
Name (Type or Print)    Signature 
 
SUBMITTED BY: 
______________________________   ____________________________________________ 
Name (Type or Print)    Signature 
 
______________________________   ____________________________________________ 
Title      Organization 
 

NOTE:  APPENDIX A, APPENDIX B, AND APPENDIX D MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE ARKANSAS 

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, 1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1904, or as directed 

by the Commissioner.  http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/ 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

APPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

DISAPPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

 
REVISED 6/2/2006 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
APPENDIX B 

COURSE VALUATION 
FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 

 
 
COURSE PROVIDER NAME___________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER NUMBER________________________________________________________________________ 

CONTACT PERSON _________________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER ADDRESS ___________________________________CITY/STATE/ZIP_____________________ 

PHONE (      )_________________________ E-MAIL_______________________________________________ 

COURSE TITLE:____________________________________________________________________ 

Method of calculation used: _______  A  _______  B  _______  C 

Printed material:  ________ Electronic Medium _______ 
 
 
 
 
Provide calculations: 

 
 
 

Hours requested based on calculation _________. 
 
 
REVISED 6/2/2006 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
APPENDIX C 

CHANGE IN CURRICULUM OR INSTRUCTOR  
FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 

 
To: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 Licensing Division 
 1200 West Third Street 
 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1904 
 
NAME OF TRAINING FACILITY_______________________________________________________________ 

COURSE PROVIDER NAME___________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER NUMBER________________________________________________________________________ 

CONTACT PERSON _________________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER ADDRESS ___________________________________CITY/STATE/ZIP_____________________ 

PHONE (      )_________________________ E-MAIL_______________________________________________ 

COURSE NAME_____________________________________________________________________________ 

COURSE NUMBER__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

The following changes have been made in our Course Curriculum and/or Instructors: 

(Attach the Applicable Changes) 

1) Course Description (Appendix B) 

2) List of Resource Materials 

3) Names of Instructors and Qualifications (Appendix D) 

4) Names of Instructors serving as Designated Officials of Provider 

 

____________________________________ 
Typed Name of Training Facility Official 
(Course Provider) 
 
____________________________________ 
Signature of Training Facility Official 
(Course Provider) 
 
____________________________________ 
Date 

 

 
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

APPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

DISAPPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

 

Revised 06/2/2006 
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Page 1 of 2 
ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

APPENDIX D 
APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL AS INSTRUCTOR 

FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 
 
 ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 Licensing Division 
 1200 West Third Street 
 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1904 
 
COURSE PROVIDER NAME___________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER NUMBER________________________________________________________________________ 

CONTACT PERSON _________________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER ADDRESS ___________________________________CITY/STATE/ZIP_____________________ 

PHONE (      )_________________________ E-MAIL_______________________________________________ 

1) Applicant Name_______________________________________________________ 

 Address__________________City/State/Zip_________E-MAIL________________ 

 Phone:  Office (     )______________________  Home (     )____________________ 

2) Name and Address of Current Employer____________________________________ 

 __________________________________________E-MAIL____________________ 

3) Name of Sponsoring Training Facility________________________________________ 

Course Provider__________________________________________________________ 

Course Provider Number________________________Address_____________________ 

City/State/Zip____________________________Email___________________________ 

4) Please list all resident and non-resident insurance licenses you currently hold as agent, 

broker, producer, insurance consultant, adjuster, managing general agent, etc.: 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

5) Please summarize prior insurance experience and training, totaling two (2) or more years.  

(Attach addition sheets, if necessary):  

______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

6) Please summarize your insurance education, including, but not limited to: 

college/university insurance course(s) hours; insurance seminars and training courses;  
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Page 2 of 2 

 number of hours completed toward certifications such as CLU, CPCU, FLMI, etc.  

(Attach additional sheets, as necessary.): 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 [Note:  As specific training on insurance is a prerequisite, please do not include general 

education hours or degrees, such as BA or MBA Degrees in Business, Marketing, etc.] 

7) Courses of study at Training Facility for which you propose to serve as Instructor: 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 

ATTACH FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS: 

a) Resume or Curriculum Vitae, if any; 

b) Appendix C completed by Training Facility Official; and 

c) As to non-resident applicants only, please attach written verification from your 

domiciliary state insurance department confirming that you have held an insurance 

license(s) for a minimum of two prior years, that the license(s) is currently in good 

standing; and that your license(s) has never been suspended or revoked. 

_________________________ 
Name of Applicant 
 

 Subscribed to and sworn or affirmed before me this ____ day of ____________, 20____. 

 

________________________ 
Notary Public 

 

My Commission expires:_______________    (Notary seal) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

APPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

DISAPPROVED BY: DATE: 

  

 

 

 
REVISED 6/2/2006 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

APPENDIX E 
INDIVIDUAL CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION 

FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 
 
 
______________________________________  _____________________________ 
Producer Name  (Type or Print)    Arkansas License Number(s) 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address    City  State  Zip Code 
 
I, __________________________________________________________________________, 

Authorized Representative (Type or Print) 
 

of __________________________________________________________________________, 
Course Provider   
 

do hereby certify that the person named herein has successfully completed the following 

approved courses: 

 Course Title  __________________________________________________________ 

 Number of Credit Hours Earned ________________  Course Number_____________ 

 Date of Course Completion ______________________________________________ 

This course has been approved by the Arkansas Department of Insurance pursuant to 2006 

EMERGENCY Rule 50. 

_______________ _______________________________________________________ 
Date   Signature of Authorized Representative 
 
_______________ _______________________________________________________ 
Date   Signature of Producer 

 

THIS FORM MAY BE PROVIDED TO THE PRODUCER UPON 

COMPLETION OF THE COURSE IF REQUESTED BY THE PRODUCER. 

 
 

 

Revised 06/02/2006 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

APPENDIX F 
REQUEST FOR EXEMPTION 

FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 
 

 
TO: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 Licensing Division 
 1200 West Third Street 
 Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 
 
 
Under Arkansas Code §23-64-302(3) and (4) as amended, I held an Arkansas producer 
license before July 1, 2003, and now am requesting the following exemption(s) 
Continuing Education Hours: 
 
_____ At least sixty (60) years of age.  Date of Birth ____________.  (Attach copy of 

birth certificate or other document evidencing date of birth.) 
 
_____ Have held a license as an agent, broker, producer for a period of fifteen (15) 

consecutive years.  Date first licensed ____________ 
 
 
I certify that the information set out above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
and belief. 
 
______________________________ _________________________________ 
Signature     Name (Print or Type) 
 
______________________________ _________________________________ 
Arkansas License Number(s)    Street Address 
 
______________________________ _________________________________ 
Telephone Number    City, State, Zip 
 
E-MAIL ADDRESS: ____________________________________________________ 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me a notary public in and for the 
State of ______________ on this __________ day of ______________, 20____. 
 
 
 ______________________________ 
(Notary seal) Notary Public 

 
 
My Commission expires 
______________________________ 

 
 
Revised 06/2/2006 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  
APPENDIX G 

AFFIDAVIT OF PROCTOR 
FOR USE WITH 2006 EMERGENCY RULE 50 

 
COURSE PROVIDER NAME___________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER NUMBER________________________________________________________________________ 

CONTACT PERSON _________________________________________________________________________ 

PROVIDER ADDRESS ___________________________________CITY/STATE/ZIP_____________________ 

PHONE (      )_________________________ E-MAIL_______________________________________________ 

Name of Licensee Taking Examination  ____________________________________________ 

Arkansas Producer License Number(s)   ____________________________________________ 

Course Title/Name   ____________________________________________ 

Date of Examination   ____________________________________________ 

Location of Examination  ____________________________________________ 

     ____________________________________________ 

Start Time:    _________  End Time: ________________________ 

(Appendix G must be attached to Appendix H)  

 * * * * * * * * * * *  

Proctor Name (Type or Print)  ____________________________________________________ 

Proctor DOB ___________________  DOI License Number, if any ______________________ 

I do hereby solemnly attest that I proctored the above correspondence examination provided to 
the above named licensee and that the examination was provided as instructed by the 
Correspondence Course Provider.  I personally opened, sealed, and numbered Exam #_____ on 
site for the test taken and assure the Commissioner that no attendee was permitted to use study 
materials or have assistance during the exam.  Further, I am not part of, or aware of, any efforts to 
circumvent the requirements of the proctored examination.  I understand that this Affidavit is 
provided under oath or affirmation, and that false information shall be grounds for possible 
Insurance Code or Rule penalties.  I will provide a complete and accurate copy of all my records 
to the approved Course Provider, who must maintain them for access by the State Insurance 
Department. 
 
______________________________________  ______________________________ 
Signature of Proctor     Date 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me, a notary public in and for the State of 
___________, on this __________ day of ______________, 20______. 

 

______________________________ 

Notary Public 

 

 

My Commission expires __________ 
 

Revised /6/02/2006 
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Page 2 of 2 
ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

1200 WEST THIRD STREET 
LITTLE ROCK AR 72201 

PHONE: 501-371-2750 
 
 

Instructions for Appendix H 
Continuing Education Providers Reporting Roster 

For Use with 2006 EMERGENCY Rule 50 
 
 

Complete Items 1-12.  A response to item number 13 is optional: 
 

1. Provider Name---complete name of CE course provider 
2. Provider Number---the number assigned to the provider by the Insurance Department 
3. Provider Contact Name---the individual staff should contact for questions on the form 
4. Phone Number---the provider’s number staff should call for questions on the form 
5. Date of Roster Submission---date the form is being sent to the Insurance Department 
6. Course Title---the name of the course taken by the producer 
7. License number or social security number ---producer’s license number assigned by the 

Department --- if unknown, use the producer’s social security number. 
8. Name of Producer---print the name of the producer (full legal name) 
9. Signature of producer---the producer must sign the roster, Appendix H (wet ink signature 

required here) 
10. Date of completion---the date the course was completed by the producer 
11. Course Number---the number assigned by the Department to the course 
12. Credit Hours---the hours credited for completion of the course when approved by the 

Department 
13. Comment Section---any additional information that you wish to disclose to the 
 Department (this is not a required field) 

 
 
If you should have any questions regarding this form, please contact the Department License 
Division at 501-371-2750; or email insurance.License@arkansas.gov 

 
 
 
Revised 06/02/2006 
 
 
 

 
 

 



<<
  /ASCII85EncodePages false
  /AllowTransparency false
  /AutoPositionEPSFiles true
  /AutoRotatePages /None
  /Binding /Left
  /CalGrayProfile (Dot Gain 20%)
  /CalRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)
  /CalCMYKProfile (U.S. Web Coated \050SWOP\051 v2)
  /sRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)
  /CannotEmbedFontPolicy /Error
  /CompatibilityLevel 1.4
  /CompressObjects /Tags
  /CompressPages true
  /ConvertImagesToIndexed true
  /PassThroughJPEGImages true
  /CreateJDFFile false
  /CreateJobTicket false
  /DefaultRenderingIntent /Default
  /DetectBlends true
  /ColorConversionStrategy /LeaveColorUnchanged
  /DoThumbnails false
  /EmbedAllFonts true
  /EmbedJobOptions true
  /DSCReportingLevel 0
  /SyntheticBoldness 1.00
  /EmitDSCWarnings false
  /EndPage -1
  /ImageMemory 1048576
  /LockDistillerParams false
  /MaxSubsetPct 100
  /Optimize true
  /OPM 1
  /ParseDSCComments true
  /ParseDSCCommentsForDocInfo true
  /PreserveCopyPage true
  /PreserveEPSInfo true
  /PreserveHalftoneInfo false
  /PreserveOPIComments false
  /PreserveOverprintSettings true
  /StartPage 1
  /SubsetFonts true
  /TransferFunctionInfo /Apply
  /UCRandBGInfo /Preserve
  /UsePrologue false
  /ColorSettingsFile ()
  /AlwaysEmbed [ true
  ]
  /NeverEmbed [ true
  ]
  /AntiAliasColorImages false
  /DownsampleColorImages true
  /ColorImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /ColorImageResolution 300
  /ColorImageDepth -1
  /ColorImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeColorImages true
  /ColorImageFilter /DCTEncode
  /AutoFilterColorImages true
  /ColorImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG
  /ColorACSImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /ColorImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /JPEG2000ColorACSImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /JPEG2000ColorImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /AntiAliasGrayImages false
  /DownsampleGrayImages true
  /GrayImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /GrayImageResolution 300
  /GrayImageDepth -1
  /GrayImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeGrayImages true
  /GrayImageFilter /DCTEncode
  /AutoFilterGrayImages true
  /GrayImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG
  /GrayACSImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /GrayImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /JPEG2000GrayACSImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /JPEG2000GrayImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /AntiAliasMonoImages false
  /DownsampleMonoImages true
  /MonoImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /MonoImageResolution 1200
  /MonoImageDepth -1
  /MonoImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeMonoImages true
  /MonoImageFilter /CCITTFaxEncode
  /MonoImageDict <<
    /K -1
  >>
  /AllowPSXObjects false
  /PDFX1aCheck false
  /PDFX3Check false
  /PDFXCompliantPDFOnly false
  /PDFXNoTrimBoxError true
  /PDFXTrimBoxToMediaBoxOffset [
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
  ]
  /PDFXSetBleedBoxToMediaBox true
  /PDFXBleedBoxToTrimBoxOffset [
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
  ]
  /PDFXOutputIntentProfile ()
  /PDFXOutputCondition ()
  /PDFXRegistryName (http://www.color.org)
  /PDFXTrapped /Unknown

  /Description <<
    /ENU (Use these settings to create PDF documents with higher image resolution for high quality pre-press printing. The PDF documents can be opened with Acrobat and Reader 5.0 and later. These settings require font embedding.)
    /JPN <FEFF3053306e8a2d5b9a306f30019ad889e350cf5ea6753b50cf3092542b308030d730ea30d730ec30b9537052377528306e00200050004400460020658766f830924f5c62103059308b3068304d306b4f7f75283057307e305930023053306e8a2d5b9a30674f5c62103057305f00200050004400460020658766f8306f0020004100630072006f0062006100740020304a30883073002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee5964d30678868793a3067304d307e305930023053306e8a2d5b9a306b306f30d530a930f330c8306e57cb30818fbc307f304c5fc59808306730593002>
    /FRA <>
    /DEU <>
    /PTB <>
    /DAN <>
    /NLD <>
    /ESP <>
    /SUO <>
    /ITA <>
    /NOR <>
    /SVE <>
  >>
>> setdistillerparams
<<
  /HWResolution [2400 2400]
  /PageSize [612.000 792.000]
>> setpagedevice


