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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
LICENSE DIVISION
1200 WEST 3%° STREET
LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201
PHONE: 501-371-2750 FAX: 501-683-2604
http://insurance.arkansas.gov/license.htm

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SURPLUS LINES BROKER/PRODUCER APPLICATION

Resident Individuals:

Must be licensed as a property/casualty agent for 3 years. No exceptions.

Must complete the application Form AID-LI-SLB and submit with:

= $1,035.00 fee made payable to the Arkansas Insurance Department, and

= $66.00 Exam fee made payable to Pearson Vue (Company Check, Money Order or Cashier’s Check)

= $22.00 Criminal Background Fee - EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2006: The Arkansas Insurance Department
is required to complete criminal background checks on all resident applicants. The applicant must
complete the Arkansas State Police Form ASP-122 (located at the end of the License Application).
You must also attach a separate company, agency, money order or cashier’s check in the amount of
$22.00 made payable to the “Arkansas Insurance Department.” No personal checks accepted.

Residents must also attach a bond, Form AID-LI-SLBB, in favor of the State of Arkansas in the amount of
$50,000.

The completed application, fees, and bond must be mailed to:

Pearson VUE
1123 S. University Ave, Suite 915
Little Rock, AR 72204

Once Pearson VUE processes the application, they will mail the applicant a permit. Once the applicant receives
the permit they may call 1-888-204-6259 to set the time, date and place of their exam.

Study Material: Books for the pre-license education for property/casualty producer’s exam can be used as a
study guide. These books can be purchased from Independent Insurance Agents of Arkansas (Big I), 11225
Huron Lane, Suite #222, Little Rock, AR 72211, www.iiaar.org; or Professional Insurance Agents (PIA) of
Arkansas, Inc., 10 Corporate Hill, Little Rock, AR 72205, www.piaar.com. You can access Arkansas
insurance laws from the Department’s Website at http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov. Select the Legal Division
section and then select “Click Here for Arkansas Code.” A content outline of the exam is attached (Exhibit I).

Non-resident Surplus Lines Brokers/Producers:

1.

Must (1) complete the application for surplus lines brokers; (2) attach a current home state certification, no
older than 60 days, which shows they hold a surplus line license in their home state; and (3) submit fee in the
amount of $1,035.00 made payable to the Arkansas Insurance Department. No bond is required.

If the applicant is not licensed for surplus lines in their home state, they must meet the same requirements as an
Arkansas resident in order to obtain that designation in the State of Arkansas. The non-resident can contact
Pearson VUE to see if CAT*ASI can make the exam available in the applicant’s home state; if not, the
applicant must travel to an exam site in Arkansas to sit for the exam.
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EXHIBIT I (2/05)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SURPLUS LINES
BROKER /PRODUCER APPLICATION

ARKANSAS SURPLUS LINES EXAMINATION
CONTENT OUTLINE

(50 SCOREABLE QUESTIONS)

GENERAL INSURANCE DEFINITIONS

RSN EQEETOR R

Actual Cash Value
Agreed value
Coinsurance
Insurable Interest
Loss

Negligence
Physical Hazard
Proximate Cause
Reinsurance
Replacement Cost
Risk

Salvage

POLICIES, COVERAGE FORMS
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Commercial General Liability
Building and Personal Property
Claims Made

Extended Dishonesty

Employee Dishonesty

Liability

a. Contingent

b. Umbrella

c. Contractual

ARKANSAS INSURANCE COMMISSIONER, SURPLUS LINES LICENSING
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Powers and Duties of the Insurance Commissioner
Filings

Required Bonds

License Requirements, Issuance

License Revocation, Suspension

ARKANSAS SURPLUS LINES LAW
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Purpose

Report, Records

Coverage

Definitions

Premium, evidence of Insurance
Policy Wording

Premium Tax



