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Revised 10-2010 

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  
LICENSE DIVISION  

1200 WEST 3RD STREET  
LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201  

PHONE: 501-371-2750  
FAX: 501-683-2604 

 
CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION  

Contact the Peggy Dunlap or Sheila Weeks for CE information  
Email: peggy.dunlap@arkansas.gov, Barbara.gordon@arkansas.gov or sheila.weeks@arkansas.gov 

  
1. When is my continuing education due?     

Continuing education is due annually on or before the renewal date of the license. There is no grace 
period. If the hours are not filed with the Department on or before the renewal date, then the license is 
subject to late filing fines and the license will not renew until the requirements are met. An individual who 
has just been licensed has a minimum of a full year before continuing education requirements are imposed.  
Producers moving from another state and becoming licensed in Arkansas as residents have a minimum of a 
year before continuing education requirements are imposed. If the next expiration date is prior to the year 
exemption, you must pay the required fee but not file continuing education. Example: A person becomes 
licensed for the first time (as new agent or as a non-resident moving to Arkansas and becomes a 
resident agent) has 1 year before continuing education is required.   If a new agent becomes licensed 
in June of 2001, and the expiration of license is February 2, 2002, the agent must pay the renewal fee 
but continuing education is not due until February 2, 2003, since the exemption period of 1 year has 
not been reached prior to the 2002 expiration date.    

 
Important Changes January 1, 2011---the renewal period will be phased into a two (2) year 
license renewal period starting with those individuals who were born in odd years and individuals 
born in odd years will have their license renewed until 2013. The Individuals born in even years 
will renew for 1 year and then will renew their license in 2012 for 2 years. New License 
Producers will be licensed for two (2) years.  Adjusters will renew for one (1) year in 2011 and be 
subject to renewal and continuing education in 2012. Title Agents continue to be renewed on an 
annual basis.    

See Summary of Changes to Rule 50 
 

2. How many hours of continuing education are due?  The required hours are based on the lines of 
authority of the licensee in 2010 but changes in 2011. See chart.  

2010  
 Life-------------------------------------------------------------------8 hours  
 Accident/Health/Sickness-----------------------------------------8 hours (This line of authority replaces 

Disability)  
 Life and Accident/Health/Sickness------------------------------8 hours  
 Property/Casualty--------------------------------------------------8 hours (This line replaces Multi-Line)  
 Personal Lines------------------------------------------------------8 hours 
 Life & Property/Casualty----------------------------------------10 hours  
 Accident/Health/Sickness & Property/Casualty -------------10 hours  
 Life, Accident/Health/Sickness & Property/Casualty-------10 hours 
 Personal Lines & Life--------------------------------------------10 hours 
 Personal Lines & Accident/Health/Sickness------------------10 hours  
 Title Agents---------------------------------------------------------6 hours 

   
2011  The amount of continuing education is no longer dependent on lines of authority. 

 All producers must complete 12 hours and 2 of the 12 hours must be in ethics 
 All title agents must complete 6 hours with 1 of the 6 hours in ethics 
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2012 Producers born in even years: 
 Producers born in even years must complete 12 hours of continuing education and 2 of the 12 

hours must be in ethics 
 Adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education and 3 of the 24 hours must be in ethics   
 For new producers licensed in 2012, continuing education will be due in 2014  
 All title agents must complete 6 hours with 1 of the 6 hours in ethics 

 
2013 Producers born in odd year and all producers licensed in 2011:  

 All producers born in an odd year will owe 24 hours of continuing education with 3 of the 24 
hours in ethics   

 All producers licensed in 2011 will owe 24 hours of continuing education with 3 of the 24 hours 
being ethics 

 Title agents will owe 6 hours with 1 of the 6 hours being in ethics  
 

2014 Producers born in even year and all producers licensed in 2012: 
 All producers born in an even year will owe 24 hours of continuing education with 3 of the 24 

hours in ethics  
 All producers licensed in 2012 will owe 24 hours of continuing education with 3 of the 24 hours 

being ethics  
 Title agents will owe 6 hours of continuing education with 1 of the 6 hours being in ethics  

 
3. When can a licensee become exempt from continuing education?    

A producer can become exempt based on age or length of licensure, if licensed as a resident Arkansas 
producer prior to July 1, 2003, and has remained a resident Arkansas licensee without break. Once a 
person reaches 60 years of age, or reaches 15 consecutive years of licensure (no breaks in licensure), they 
can become exempt if licensed as a resident Arkansas producer prior to July 1, 2003. This exemption does 
not apply if the person was licensed as a resident Arkansas producer after July 1, 2003, and the 
licensee cannot use licensure in another state prior to becoming licensed in Arkansas for the 15 year license 
exemption. If the person is licensed as a resident Arkansas producer after July 1, 2003, they can never 
become exempt from Continuing Education. 

 
Important: There is no exemption for title agents and no exemption for adjusters.  

 
4. What courses can I take to meet my continuing education requirements?    

The licensee must take a course approved by the Arkansas Insurance Department by a continuing education 
provider that has been approved by the Arkansas Insurance Department. Courses that have been approved 
in other states but not approved in Arkansas will not suffice. If the course is not approved or the provider is 
not approved, then the continuing education hours will not count towards the continuing education hours.  
Ask the provider if it is an approved provider and if the particular course is approved for Arkansas before 
you purchase the course. Producers must take courses approved for producers and cannot take courses 
approved for title agents and adjusters. Title agents must take the courses approved for title agents and 
cannot take courses approved for producers or for adjusters. Adjusters must take courses approved for 
adjusters and they cannot take courses approved for producers or title agents.  
       

5. Can I get an extension on my continuing education?  

If you have been unable to complete continuing education because of ill health, medical disability or family 
illness, you may request an extension for the due day of the continuing education. You need to document 
the request with medical statements from the doctor or hospital. Since the producer has 1 year to meet the 
requirements, the medical condition has to be long standing in order to meet the extension requirements.   
  

6. How do I locate a proctor for my correspondence exam?  

All correspondence courses must have a sealed written exam and the completion of the exam must be 
monitored by a proctor. Proctors must provide an affidavit on Appendix G which must be completed and 
returned to the continuing education provider prior to the provider reporting the completed hours to the 
Department.   Proctors must be a disinterested third party and shall not serve for examinations of family 
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members or relatives or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners or joint 
ventures or co-owners; current or former teachers or pupils; neighbors or personal friends or significant 
others; or for anyone with whom the proctor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful 
outcome of the examination.  

 
7. Can I take the same course over for continuing education credit?  

A course cannot be repeated within 2 years---this includes ethics courses. The purpose of continuing 
education is to educate the producer; taking the same course over does not meet this standard. If a licensee 
repeats a course within the 2 years then the course will not count for continuing education. The 2 year 
period is calculated from the completion date.     

    
8. How many hours can I carry over from one year to the next?  

A producer, title agent or adjuster can carry over the number of hours needed for the next requirement year; 
any hours above the hours needed for the next requirement year will be lost.    
  

9. I have completed my hours, what do I do now?  

The continuing education provider is required to file the continuing education completion with the 
Department on an Appendix H and the producer keeps the appendix E’s for the producer’s records. The 
licensee now pays the $10.00 filing fee with the license renewal fee. Since the continuing education 
provider has 10 days to report this completing to the Department, the licensee cannot wait to the last minute 
to complete continuing education or the continuing education will not be received in time to allow the 
licensee’s license renewal.  

 
10. What are the requirements for ethics education? 

Each producer who is required to complete continuing education must complete ethics education annually 
in 2010, 2 hours in 2011 or 2012. The producer will then be required to complete 3 hours every 2 years.  
Adjusters must complete 3 hours of ethics education starting in 2012. Title agents must complete 1 hour of 
ethic education annually. The ethics education requirement is not in addition to your regular continuing 
education requirements. Ethics course cannot be carried over from renewal period to the next renewal 
period. If you are exempt from completing continuing education, then you are exempt from the ethics 
education. 

 
11. What are the fines if the Continuing Education is filed after the due date?  

The fines are based on the number of days after the expiration date the requirements are filed.  See Chart:  
1 to 30 days---license will not renew and will be inactive---$25.00   
31 to 60 days---license inactive and $50.00 fine  
61-90 days---license inactive and $100.00 fine  
91 days to 365 days---license inactive and $150.00 fine  
After 365 days---the license is terminated and the individual must start over as if they were never licensed--
-pre-license education and license exams.    
If the license is inactive due to non-compliance to continuing education, the licensee cannot write business 
until the requirements are filed and the license is reactivated 

 
12. What if I fail to sign the roster at the continuing education class?    

If a licensee fails to sign the roster at the continuing education class then the licensee will not get credit for 
the course.   

        
13. What if the licensee fails to return the Appendix G to the continuing education provider? 

The licensee will not get credit for a course until the Appendix G is received by the provider.  


