BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN THE MATTER OF
MELINDA J. ALLISON ALD.NO.2012- ()44

CONSENT ORDER

On this day, Jay Bradford, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”), and
Melinda J. Allison (“Respondent™) agree to enter into this Consent Order for the reasons stated

below. From the facts and law before the Commissioner, he finds:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and subject matter pursuant to
Arkansas Code Annotated § 23-61-103.

2. Respondent is an Arkansas Resident Producer, license number 14794, and on
November 9, 2011, she submitted to the Arkansas Insurance Department (“Department™) a
completed license renewal application. A question on the application (specifically, question 1)
required Respondent to state whether she had been convicted of or charged with a crime since
the date of the last license renewal. Respondent answered the question “yes.”

3. Respondent was arrested on July 26, 2011, at Dillard’s, a department store in
North Little Rock, Arkansas, for theft of property. On September 8, 2011, Respondent was
found guilty of theft of property, a misdemeanor, and ordered to pay fines and court costs in the
amount of $740.00.

4. Respondent did not report the arrest or conviction to the Department, and the
matter was referred to the Legal Division of the Department for further investigation as to any

violation of Arkansas Code Annotated § 23-64-517, which requires a producer to report to the



Department any action taken against the producer by a governmental agency and any plea
entered in court in a criminal prosecution.

5. On December 15, 2011, Respondent appeared for an Investigative Conference at
the Department, and she fully admitted, under oath, that she was arrested for theft of property on
July 26, 2011, was found guilty of theft of property, a misdemeanor, on September 8, 2011, and
failed to report the arrest or conviction to the Department within thirty (30) days of the arrest or
conviction. Respondent was fully cooperative and accepted responsibility for violating Arkansas
law and the requirements of the Department.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. Respondent’s criminal conviction is a violation of Arkansas Code Annotated §
23-64-512(a)(2), (8), and Respondent’s failure to notify the Department of the arrest and
conviction for theft of property within thirty (30) days of the action is a violation of Arkansas
Code Annotated § 23-64-517. |

THE PARTIES HAVE AGREED THAT:

A. Respondent shall be allowed to retain her Arkansas Producer’s License.
However, Respondent will be placed on Probation for two (2) full years of licensure.

B. Respondent understands that Respondent’s conviction information will be open to
the public pursuant to the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act of 1967, Arkansas Code
Annotated §§ 25-19-101, et. seq.

C. Respondent understands that this Consent Order will be provided to the National

Association of Insurance Commissioner and will be accessible by other states.



D. Respondent understands that this Consent Order may be used in any future

administrative proceedings brought against Respondent by the Commissioner.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 26 day of Tému\ourw‘ ,2012.

Wiy L2 .

MELINDA J. ALy ON JAY‘BRAD ORD
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER




