BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT,
Petitioner

MARK SAMUEL ELLIS,

Respondent

)
)
)

vSs. )
;
) ALD.NO.2012- 084
)

CONSENT ORDER

On this day, the matter of Mark Samuel Ellis (“Respondent™), came before Jay Bradford,
Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”). The Arkansas Insurance Department
(“Department”) is represented by Amanda J. Andrews, Associate Counsel, in this matter. From
the facts and law before the Commissioner, he finds as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter
pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 23-61-103.

2. Respondent is a resident of Florida and holds Arkansas Non-Resident Producer
License No. 396655.

3. On May 16, 2012, the California Department of Insurance denied Respondent’s
application for an unrestricted license to act as a life-only agent and an accident and health agent
because of certain criminal convictions in Respondent’s past. Instead, California issued to
Respondent a restricted license for life, accident and health.

4. On July 9, 2012, Respondent entered into a Consent Order with the Delaware

Department of Insurance in which he admitted that he failed to disclose the administrative action



against him in California, as required by Delaware law, and agreed to a one year suspension of
his non-resident producer license, which was waived upon payment of a fine in the amount of
$500.00.

5. To date, Respondent has failed to disclose the above administrative actions to the
Arkansas Insurance Department.

6. Respondent has voluntarily waived his right to counsel and his right to an

administrative hearing.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

From the Findings of Fact contained herein, the Commissioner concludes as follows:

7. A licensed producer is required to report to the Insurance Commissioner any
administrative action taken against him in another jurisdiction or by another governmental
agency in this state within thirty (30) days after the final disposition of the matter. Ark. Code
Ann. § 23-64-517(a).

8. The Commissioner may place on probation, suspend or revoke a producer’s
license for any one (1) or more of the following causes: violating a law of any state; using
fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices or demonstrating incompetence, untrustworthiness,
lack of good personal or business reputation, or financial irresponsibility; or having an insurance
producer license or its equivalent denied, suspended, or revoked in any other state, province,
district, or territory. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-65-512(a).

9. Respondent failed to disclose to the Department the administrative actions against
him in California and Delaware, which is a violation of Arkansas law, and as a result,
Respondent is placed on probation for a period of one (1) year and required to pay a fine of

$500.00.



IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

Based upon the foregoing, the parties hereto agree that the Respondent’s Arkansas Non-
Resident License No. 396655 is hereby placed on probationary status for a period of one (1)
year, and Respondent is ordered to pay $500.00. If Respondent violates any law, rule or
regulation during the probationary period, additional administrative action may be taken against

Respondent.
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IT IS SO ORDERED THIS i DAY OF% Q&Y\Léﬂ’? 2012.

é/f%/m e f S

MARK SAMUEL ELLIS JAY KORD
RESPONDENT INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS



