
  
Call Senior Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP) 

1-800-224-6330 

Save Money 

on Medicare Costs and Medicine  

If you are 65 and older 
OR 

Under 65 and have been receiving Social Security Disability Income 
for 24 months  

 

You may qualify for assistance with your Medicare Part B 
premium cost & Part D medication cost  

Medicare Savings Program: is a State of  Arkansas  
Program known as the Medicare Buy-in.  Applications 
are processed by the Arkansas Department of  Human 

Services. www.access.arkansas.gov 
 

Extra Help: is a Federal Program.  Applications are pro-
cessed by the Social Security Administration.  

www.ssa.gov/medicare/prescriptionhelp 

This publication was created by the State of 
Arkansas with financial assistance, in whole or 
part, through a grant from the Administration for 

Community Living, an agency of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services.  

         Revised 10/16 

Arkansas Insurance Department 
Allen Kerr, Insurance Commissioner 

1200 W 3rd St., Little Rock, AR 72201 
www.insurance.arkansas.gov 

Toll Free: 1-800-224-6330 

MSP AND EXTRA HELP 
 WEBSITE INFORMATION 

https://access.arkansas.gov/�
https://www.ssa.gov/medicare/prescriptionhelp/�


 

Federal Program 
Extra Help  

with Prescription Medication & Part D Costs 

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= not more than $1,485.00 
              Couple= not more than $2,003.00 
     
ASSET LIMIT:           Individual= Not more than $13,640 

    Couple= Not more than  $27,250 

PARTIAL Extra Help 

FULL Extra Help 
MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= Not more than $1,336.50 
    Couple= Not more than $1,802.25 
     

ASSET LIMIT:   Individual= Not more than $8,780 
    Couple= Not more than    $13,930 

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= Not more than $1,010.00 
            Couple= Not more than $1,375.00 

     
ASSET LIMIT:  Individual= Not more than $8,780 
    Couple= Not more than $13,930 

Dual Eligible =  Receiving Medicare and QMB 
Dual 

Eligilble 

Full  
Extra  
Help 

Partial 
Extra 
Help 

 

 Part D Late 
Enrollment 

Penalty 

Part D  
Monthly  
Premium 

Part D 
Deductible 

Part D  
Copayment 

Dual  
Eligible X X X Patient pays $1.20  up to 

$3.60  

Full Extra 
Help X X X Patient pays $2.95 up to 

$7.40  

PARTIAL  
Extra Help X 15% $74 

Coinsurance based on  
subsidy level 

 Primary Home and Primary Vehicle do not count as assets. 

 Primary Home and Primary Vehicle do not count as assets. 

 Part B Late  
Enrollment 

Penalty 

Part B  
Premium 

Part B  
Coinsurance 

Part A & B  
Deductible 

Part A  
Copayments 

QI-1 & SLMB 
 X X    

AR Seniors  X X X X X 

QMB X X X X X 

Full Medicaid 
Benefits 

 

 

X 

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= not more than $1,336.50  
   Couple= not more than $1,802.25  
   
ASSET LIMIT:  Individual= not more than 7,280 
   Couple= not more than $10,930  

QUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL (QI-1) 

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= not more than $1,188.00 
   Couple= not more than $1,602.00 
     
ASSET LIMIT:  Individual= not more than 7,280 
   Couple= not more than $10,930  

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= not more than $990.00 
   Couple= not more than $1,335.00 
     
ASSET LIMIT:  Individual= not more than 7,280 
   Couple= not more than $10,930 

MONTHLY INCOME:   Individual= not more than $792.00 
   Couple= not more than $1,068.00  
  
ASSET LIMIT:  Individual= not more than 7,280 
   Couple= not more than $10,930 
    

ARKANSAS 
Medicare Savings Programs 

for Medicare Premiums, Deductibles & Coinsurance 
*Administered through the Dept. of Human Services   

QI-1 
 

SLMB 

QMB 

AR 
Seniors 

SPECIFIED LOW INCOME MEDICARE BENEFICIARY 

 QUALIFIED MEDICARE BENEFICIARY 

 AR SENIORS must be 65 & older 


