
 

 

RULE AND REGULATION 81 

 EMPLOYER SERVICE ASSURANCE ORGANIZATIONS 
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SECTION 1. AUTHORITY 
This Rule and Regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Insurance Commissioner for the 
State of Arkansas ("Commissioner") pursuant to the authority vested in the Commissioner by 
Section 1 of Act 1750 of 2003, codified as Arkansas Code Annotated §§23-92-401, et seq., by 
Acts 652 of 1993, codified as Arkansas Code Annotated —§§23-61-709, and by Arkansas Code 
Annotated §§23-61-108 and 25-15-201, et seq. 
 
SECTION 2. PURPOSE 
The purpose of this Rule and Regulation is to set forth the need for the licensing of employer 
services assurance organization (hereinafter “ESAO”), to establish minimum standards for the 
conduct of those organizations, and for promulgating procedures for their licensing. 
 
SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE  
Pursuant to the Commissioner's authority under Ark. Code Ann. §23-61-108, §§25-15-201, et 
seq., and other applicable laws and rules, the effective date of this Rule and Regulation is 
February 1, 2004.  
 
SECTION 4. DEFINITIONS FOR PURPOSES OF THIS RULE AND REGULATION 
Unless otherwise noted, definitions applicable to this rule and regulation shall be the same as 
found in Ark. Code Ann. §23-92-402. 
 
 
SECTION 5. FEES 
(a) The initial fee for an ESAO shall be $500.00 for the initial fee and $500.00 for each bi-annual 
renewal. 
(b) All fees are non-refundable. 
 



SECTION 6. EMPLOYER ASSURANCE SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS 
(a) The Commissioner has determined that it is in the best interest of the State of Arkansas to 
license one or more ESAO’s pursuant to the authority granted under Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-
415 and § 23-92-419 in order: 

(1) to provide greater financial protection for the State and for the clients and employees 
employed by a professional employer organization (“PEO”) that is qualified to participate 
in the services of a EASO; and 
(2) to assist the Commissioner in minimizing the cost of administration of the licensing of 
all EASO qualified PEO’s in accordance with Act 1750 of 2003. Pursuant to the 
Commissioner’s authority under Ark. Code Ann. §23-92-414, the Commissioner shall 
accept an affidavit of a licensed EASO provided on behalf of a duly qualified PEO in lieu 
of the requirements under §§ 23-92-404 through 23-92-406 and § 23-92-408, and the fees 
provided for in § 23-92-407, provided the EASO is in compliance with §§ 23-92-415 
through 23-92-418 and applicable provisions of this Rule and Regulation 58. 

(b) Every initial application required under Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-415 shall be submitted by 
using the Arkansas Department of Insurance EASO-A1 Licensing Application and shall be 
accompanied by the initial licensing fee of $500.00 as required by Section 6(a)(3). 
(c) The license issued to an EASO shall remain in effect until the licensee withdraws from the 
State or until the license is suspended or revoked, provided the licensee remains in compliance 
with all provisions of §§ 23-92-415 through 23-92-418. 
(d) As a condition of continued licensing, the Commissioner may request any information 
available to the EASO about any PEO for which the EASO has submitted an affidavit. 
(e) In the event of the failure of a professional employer organization, which is licensed pursuant 
to an EASO affidavit, to comply with any provision of Act 1750 of 2003 or with any provision 
of Rule and Regulation 58, the Commissioner shall provide the EASO with thirty (30) days 
written notice prior to taking action against any bond provided by the EASO under § 23-92-
415(c)(1)(E) to allow the EASO to otherwise cure the default or pay the claim before a claim is 
filed against the bond(s). 
(f) If a claim is filed by the Commissioner against the one hundred thousand dollar ($100,000) 
bond provided by a licensed EASO under § 23-92-415(c)(1)(E)(i)(b), the EASO must provide as 
a condition of continued licensing an additional one hundred thousand dollar ($100,000) bond or 
equivalent security acceptable to the Commissioner within thirty (30) days of written notice of 
the filing of a claim.  
 
SECTION 7. LICENSE NOT ASSIGNABLE 
A licensee may not conduct business under any name other than that specified in the license.  A 
license issued under this Rule and Regulation is not assignable.  A licensee may not conduct 
business under any fictitious or assumed name without prior written authorization from the 
Commissioner.  A licensee may not conduct business under more than one name unless it has 
obtained a separate license for each name. 
 
SECTION 8. INTERPRETATION 
This Rule and Regulation shall be construed in accordance with Act 1750 of 2003. 
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