BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT )
Petitioner ‘ )

)
VS. )

) 99%
MICHAEL EUGENE MCDONALD ) ALD. NQ. 2014- ~ 7~
Respondent )

)

REVOCATION ORDER

On this day, the matter of Michael Eugene McDonald (“Respondent™) comes before Jay
Bradford, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”). The Arkansas Insurance

Department (“Department”) is represented by Ava Franks, Associate Counsel, in this matter.

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Respondent holds Arkansas Resident Producer License No. 241574.
2. On or about June 26, 2013, the Department received a consumer complaint that

alleged Respondent changed a policy without the consumer’s knowledge.

3. On or about February 11, 2014, an Investigative Conference was held.
4. Respondent admitted to financing consumers’ premiums by paying consumers’

premiums in whole in order for them to obtain insurance, charging fees on his agency monthly
premium financing plan, and endorsing premium refund checks by signing consumers’
signatures and using his agency stamp to mark deposit only during that Investigative Conference.

5. The companies with which Respondent was appointed do not offer premium

financing in the circumstances in which Respondent was premium financing.



6. A hearing was held June 24, 2014, during which Respondent admitted to
financing consumers’ premiums by paying consumers’ premiums in whole in order for them to
obtain insurance, charging fees on his agency monthly premium financing plan, and endorsing
premium refund checks by signing consumers’ signatures and using his agency stamp to mark
deposit only.

7. Also during the hearing, Respondent explained his reasoning for paying consumer
premiums in whole: “I would go ahead and pay the six (6) months upfront, and my thinking was,
is that if the insurance agency is going to get the eight dollars ($8.00), Id rather get the eight
dollars ($8.00)....1 wasn’t looking at trying to charge them a lot of extra money. I was just
saying, well, that’s eight dollars ($8.00) that I can get out of that, so that’s what I was doing.”

8. Respondent explained further reasons for paying consumer premiums in advance
by stating: “If I paid it [the premium] for six (6) months in advance, I could get the 10-percent
discount or 8-percent discount, whatever the agency had, plus the eight dollar ($8.00) rebilling
fee.”

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

From the Findings of Fact contained herein, the Commissioner concludes as follows:

7. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §23-61-103.

8. No person shall willfully collect any sum as a premium or charge for insurance
that is not then provided or is not in due course to be provided, subject to acceptance of the risk

by the insurer, by an insurance policy issued by an insurer as authorized by the Arkansas

Insurance Code. Ark. Code Ann. §23-66-310(a).



9. No producer shall pay, allow, or offer to pay, any valuable consideration or
inducement whatever not specified in the policy except to the extent provided for in an
applicable filing with the Commissioner as provided by law. Ark. Code Ann. §23-66-308(a).

10. The Arkansas Insurance Code Trade Practices Act defines Rebating as: paying,
allowing, or giving or offering to pay, allow, or give, as an inducement to the insurance contract
any rebate of premiums payable on the contract or any special favor or advantage in the benefits
thereon or any valuable consideration or inducement whatever not specified in the contract. Ark.
Code Ann. §23-66-206(10)(A)(i).

11.  The Commissioner may revoke a producer’s license for violating a law,
regulation, or order of the Commissioner. Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-512(a)(2).

12. The Commissioner may revoke a producer’s license for improperly withholding,
misappropriating, or converting any moneys received in the course of doing insurance business.
Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-512(a)(4).

13.  The Commissioner may revoke a producer’s license for having been found to
have committed any insurance unfair trade practice or fraud. Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-512(a)(7).

14. The Commissioner may revoke a producer’s license for using fraudulent or
dishonest practices or demonstrating untrustworthiness, lack of good personal or business

reputation, or financial irresponsibility. Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-512(8).



RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING OFFICER

WHEREFORE, based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and
other matters before her, the Hearing Officer recommends:
7 Respondent’s Arkansas Resident Producer License No. 241574 should be
" LENITA BLASINGAME,

CHIEF DEPUTY COMMISSIONER
and HEARING OFFICER

revoked.




CERTIFICATION

I, Jay Bradford, Insurance Commissioner for the State of Arkansas, do hereby certify that
the above Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Recommendations of the Hearing Officer
were made by and under my authority and supervision by Lenita Blasingame, Chief Deputy
Commissioner and Hearing Officer in this proceeding. I hereby adopt the Hearing Officer’s
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Recommendation in full and enter this Order.

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Respondent’s Arkansas Resident Producer
License No. 241574 is REVOKED and will be placed in inactive status as of the date of this
order. Following the expiration of three (3) years from the date of this Order, the Respondent
may apply to reinstate his license in accordance with the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-

217(b).

; A p
IT IS SO ORDERED THIS [ﬂ day of | ;é { Q‘Q' , 2014.

£
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS




