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BULLETIN NO.:     13-2017 

 

TO: All Licensed Foreign, Alien and Domestic Insurers, Accredited/Trusteed 

Reinsurers, Farmers' Mutual Aid Associations, Hospital and Medical Service 

Corporations, Health Maintenance Organizations, Fraternal Benefit 

Societies, Insurer Trade Associations, Rate Service or Advisory 

Organizations, All Insurance Producer Trade Associations, All Third Party 

Administrators, Adjuster Trade Association, Approved But Not Admitted 

Surplus Line Insurers, Licensed Managing General Agents and Agencies, 

Licensed Surplus Line Brokers, the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners and Other Interested Parties  

 

FROM: Arkansas Insurance Department 

 

SUBJECT: 2017 ARKANSAS LEGISLATION PERTAINING TO INSURANCE 

 

 

GENERAL LEGISLATION 

 

 

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT’S GENERAL OMNIBUS, ACT 283 

OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

Sections 1-3. Ark Code Ann. §§ 23-40-101, et seq.  These three sections update the prepaid 

funeral benefits portion of the Arkansas Code to clarify the standards and 

requirements of licensure in Arkansas.  Section 1 addresses the collection of 

contract proceeds on insurance or annuity-funded contracts.  Section 2 adds cash-

funded contracts to clarify the collection of proceeds for cash accommodation 

items.  Section 3 adds the words “up to” preceding the $100 per day penalty for 

failing to pay regulatory fees, allowing the Department to fine a company less 

than $100 in the Commissioner’s discretion. 

 

Section 4.   Ark Code Ann. § 23-61-113.  This section amends the law regarding the 

disclosure of nonpublic personal information to add that in the event of a data 

breach, notification must be given to the Commissioner as prescribed by § 4-110-

105, which is a reference to the Personal Information Protection Act (enforced by 

the Attorney General).  The amendment makes clear that this applies only to those 

engaging in the business of insurance. 
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Section 5.    Ark Code Ann. § 23-61-115.  This section amends the law regarding the rights of 

policyholders to include a reasonable expectation that nonpublic information will 

be securely maintained.   

Section 6.   Ark Code Ann. § 23-61-205. This section removes inconsistencies in the statute 

 regarding the method of transmitting examination documents to the insurer and is 

 in line with the most current national model.  

Section 7.   Ark. Code Ann. § 23-61-302.  This section regarding immunity from prosecution 

 is amended to reflect the original intent of the statute.   

Section 8.    Ark. Code Ann. § 23-63-216.  Currently, Arkansas law requires a market 

conduct annual statement from insurers writing certain business reporting 

$7,000,000 or more in annual premium.  The national uniform (NAIC) standard is 

$50,000.  This section lowers our threshold to $50,000 in premium by amending 

Ark. Code Ann. § 23-63-216(b).  Companies that sell only pre-paid legal or pre-

paid funeral or operate only in this state are exempt from filing the market 

conduct annual statement pursuant to an amendment to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-63-

216(b)(2).   

Section 9.   Ark Code Ann. § 23-63-1602.  This is a technical correction to a provision 

 regarding captive insurers concerning the statement that must appear on any 

 policy or certificate issued by a captive insurer.    

Section 10.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-209.  This section clarifies what happens after an 

 adjuster gives notice to the Department within 10 days of working in Arkansas 

 due to a catastrophe.  This amendment allows the out of state adjuster 90 days to 

 cease the activity in this state or obtain an Arkansas adjuster’s license.   

Section 11.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-607.  This statute is amended to remove the annual 

 September 30 licensing deadline for Exchange-related licenses and provide for a 

 two year license. 

Section 12.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-65-101.  This section removes reference to Ark. Code Ann. 

 § 23-66-214, regarding immunity from prosecution, which is repealed by Section 

 13 of this Act.   

Section 13.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-214.  This section repeals Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-214, 

 regarding immunity from prosecution. 

Section 14.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-505.  The section adds language to include the 

 Commissioner’s employees, examiners, investigators, agents or representatives 

 as those with authority to conduct an investigation.  This change provides for 

 consistency with the language in Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-506.  This section also 

 adds the relevant statutory citation regarding producer licensing. 
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Section 15.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-67-223.  This section repeals Ark. Code Ann. § 23-67-223, 

 regarding product survey and comparison reports. 

Section 16.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-67-415.  This section repeals Ark. Code Ann. § 23-67-415, 

 regarding the industry reporting of credit information. 

Section 17.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-76-104.  This statute is amended to add the application of 

 Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-66-501, et seq., to health maintenance organizations.  This 

 is the Fraudulent Insurance Acts Prevention section of the Trade Practices Act, 

 which is not currently applicable to HMOs.   

Section 18.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-90-103.  This section removes workers’ compensation 

 claims from the $300,000 cap under the Arkansas Property and Casualty Fund 

 Act, which is consistent with other states’ laws. 

Sections 19-21. Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-94-201, et seq.  This section adopts the most current 

 national model for regulation of domestic and foreign risk retention groups, which 

 is a 2017 NAIC accreditation standard.   

Section 22.  Ark. Code Ann. § 23-100-104.  This is an amendment to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-

 100-104 to provide for a June 1 annual deadline for insurers’ payment of their 

 antifraud assessments, which should provide efficiencies for both the insurers 

 and the Arkansas Insurance Department.  

 TO AMEND THE STATUTES OF LIMITATION FOR FRAUDULENT 

INSURANCE ACTS, ACT 695 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

This Act amends Ark. Code Ann. § 5-1-109, regarding the statute of limitations for the 

prosecution of alleged fraudulent insurance acts, including an extended statute of limitation for 

intentional motor vehicle accidents caused for the purpose of making an insurance claim.   

 

FINANCIAL – INSURER LEGISLATION 

 

 

TO MODERNIZE THE INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY REGULATORY 

ACT, ACT 386 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

The amendments to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-63-501, et seq., bring our Insurance Holding 

Company Regulatory Act in line with the most current national model.  The updates include 

divestiture provisions in a merger or acquisition of a domestic insurer.   
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PROPERTY & CASUALTY LEGISLATION 

 

 

  TO AMEND THE PROPERTY AND CASUALTY LAW; TO CLARIFY THE 

DEPRECIATION APPLICABLE WHEN DETERMINING THE VALUE OF 

DAMAGED PROPERTY, ACT 279 of 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act adds Ark. Code Ann. § 23-88-106 to the Arkansas Insurance Code.  This statute applies 

to expense depreciation, including labor, when determining the value of damaged property under 

an insurance policy. 

 

  CONCERNING THE TYPE OF SERVICE CONTRACTS THAT ARE SUBJECT 

TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICE CONTRACT ACT; AND TO ADD 

THEFT PROTECTION PROGRAM WARRANTIES TO THE MOTOR 

VEHICLE SERVICE CONTRACT ACT, ACT 364 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 

2017. 

 

The Motor Vehicle Service Contract Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 4-90-501, et seq., is amended to 

add additional terms and definitions and additional services, including theft protection. 

 

  TO REVISE CERTAIN PROVISIONS RELATED TO FORMATION AND 

OPERATION OF CAPTIVE INSURANCE COMPANIES, ACT 370 OF 2017. 

Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act updates the financial regulation standards relative to the captive insurance market and 

should encourage the formation of domestic captive insurance companies in Arkansas.  

Arkansas’ captive insurance laws were originally adopted in 2001 and were in need of updates to 

address changes in the market. 

 

This legislation amends Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-63-1601, et seq., including broadening the 

definition of what type of companies may form a captive insurance company to any business 

organization authorized under Arkansas law and approved by the Commissioner.  It also adds 

Ark. Code Ann. § 23-63-1624 to provide regulatory structure for a dormant captive insurer.   

 

 TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE, ACT 

 1016 OF 2017.  Effective January 1, 2019. 

 

This Act establishes the Arkansas Online Insurance Verification System Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 

27-22-201, et seq.  Authorized persons and entities may access the system to determine the 

insurance status of a motor vehicle. 
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LIFE & HEALTH LEGISLATION 

 

 

  TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS TO TITLE 23 OF THE ARKANSAS 

CODE, ACT 334 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

Section 7 of this Act amends Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-201 to add or amend the definitions of 

pharmacy benefits and third-party administrators.   

 

 TO CLARIFY THE TYPE OF ANNUITY CONTRACTS SUBJECT TO THE 

UNCLAIMED LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS ACT, ACT 368 OF 2017.  Effective 

August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act amends Ark. Code Ann. § 23-81-903 make clear that, for purposes of the Unclaimed 

Life Insurance Benefits Act, an annuity used to fund a funeral or related expense or a prepaid 

funeral benefits contract is not included with the definition of “contract” or “policy.”   

 

 CONCERNING COVERAGE OF  MAMMOGRAMS UNDER AN INSURANCE 

POLICY, ACT 708 OF 2017, ACT 708 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act amends Ark. Code Ann. § 23-79-140 to provide a definition for “breast ultrasound” and 

amends the existing definitions of “mammography” and “diagnostic mammography.” It also 

amends this statute to require accident and health providers to offer coverage for a screening 

mammography and breast ultrasound based on the conditions set forth in subsection (b).   

 

 TO PROVIDE PARITY IN HEALTH BENEFIT PLAN COVERAGE BETWEEN 

ORALLY AND INTRAVENOUSLY ADMINISTERED ANTICANCER 

MEDICATION, ACT 534 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act adds Ark. Code Ann. § 23-79-161, which provides definitions and prohibits payment 

for orally administered anticancer medication that exceeds the cost of injected or intravenously 

administered anticancer medication. 

 

 TO CREATE THE MEDICAID PROVIDER-LED ORGANIZED CARE ACT, 

ACT 775 OF 2017.  Effective March 31, 2017. 

 

This Act establishes the Medicaid Provider-Led Organized Care Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 20-77-

2701, et seq., and adds Ark. Code Ann. § 23-61-117.  These organizations will be licensed by the 

Arkansas Insurance Department.  This Act also amends Ark. Code Ann. §§ 26-57-603, 26-57-

604 and 26-57-610 regarding premium tax upon these organizations.   

 

 TO CLARIFY CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF THE PRIOR AUTHORIZATION 

TRANSPARENCY ACT, ACT 815 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 
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This Act amends various provisions of the Prior Authorization Transparency Act, Ark. Code 

Ann. §§ 23-99-1101, et seq.  It supplements Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 115, which 

became effective January 1, 2017. 

 

 TO AMEND THE REQUIREMENTS FOR HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE 

FOR MEDICALLY NECESSARY FOODS IN THE TREATMENT OF INBORN 

ERRORS OF METABOLISM, ACT 1096 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 2017. 

 

This Act amends Ark. Code Ann. § 23-79-703 to require coverage of necessary foods for the 

treatment of certain inherited metabolic disorders listed in subsection (a).    

 

 

FUNERAL LEGISLATION 

 

 

 TO CREATE THE STATE BOARD OF EMBALMERS, FUNERAL DIRECTORS, 

CEMETERIES AND BURIAL SERVICES; ACT 788 OF 2017.  Effective August 1, 

2017. 

 

This Act abolishes the State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, the Burial Association 

Board, and the Arkansas Cemetery Board and creates a single board under the Arkansas 

Insurance Department that would perform the functions of the former boards.  On July 1, 2018, 

the three boards will be abolished and their powers, duties, functions, records, personnel, 

property, unexpended balances of appropriations, allocations, or other funds will be transferred 

to the Department.  The Commissioner, or his designee, will be a voting member of the new 

board, the State Board of Embalmers, Funeral Directors, Cemeteries, and Burial Services of the 

Arkansas Insurance Department.   

   

 

 

 

    JULY 31, 2017 

ALLEN KERR      DATE 

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  


