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CAPTION
PROCEEDINGS in the above-styled and numbered cause
on the 30th day of September, 2015, before Faith
Grigsby, Arkansas Supreme Court Certified Court Reporter
#686, at 10:00 a.m., in the Hearing Room of the Arkansas
Insurance Department, 1200 West Third Street, Little
Rock, Arkansas, pursuant to the agreement hereinafter

set forth.
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PROCEEDINGS
SEPTEMBER 30, 2015

HEARING OFFICER: Today is September 30th
and we are here in the matter of Proposed
Amended Rule 43, Unfair Claims Settlement
Practices. My name is Suzanne Tipton, General
Counsei for the Insurance Department.
Commissioner Kerr has appointed me to be the
hearing officer in this matter. Present
representing the Department is Ms. Amanda
Gibson.

You may proceed.

MS. GIBSON: First, I would like to briefly
describe all of the exhibits, and then I will
move to admit those into the record, and then
Iv11 give a summary of the proposed amendments.

Exhibit Number 1 is the designation of
hearing officer appointing Suzanne Tipton,
General Counsel, hearing officer. Exhibit 2 is
the Arkansas Insurance Department's Notice of
Public Hearing concerning the proposed
amendments to this rule. Exhibit 3 is the
initially filed Proposed Amended Rule 43,
Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.

Exhibit 4 is a copy of the letter to the
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Arkansas Democrat Gazette requesting newspaper
notice. Exhibit 5 is a copy of the proof of
publicétion of this hearing today on Proposed
Amended Rule 43, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act. Exhibit 6 is a
notice of the electronic mail distribution of
the Notice of Hearing that went out to
interested persons.

Exhibit 7 is a copy of the cover letter
that went to the Bureau of Legislative
Research. Exhibit 8 is a copy of the
Legislative Council gquestionnaire. Exhibit 9
is a copy of the Economic Impact Statement.
Exhibit 10 is a copy of the courtesy notice to
the Attorney General's Office. Exhibit 11 is a
copy of the cover letter that filed the
proposed amendments with the Secretary of
State.

Exhibit 12 is a copy of the courtesy notice
that went to the Economic Development
Commission. Exhibit 13 is a copy of the
courtesy notice sent to the Governor's Office.
Exhibit 14 is a public comment that we received
in writing from State Farm, through their

counsel, Mitchell Williams.
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Aﬁd at this time, I'd like to move to admit
Exhibits 1 through 14 into the record.

HEARING OFFICER: Exhibits 1 through 14
will be admitted into the record.

(WHEREUPON, Exhibits Number 1 through 14
were marked for identification and are attached
hereto.)

MS. GIBSON: The amendments that were made
to Rule 43 were very minor, and they occur on
Page 6jof the Rule. This is within Section 9,
which starts on Page 5. But on Page 6, in
Paragraph 2, the word "within" is added there,
before the 45 days. And I guess maybe I can
sort of just general describe the amendments.

In Exhibit 8, which is a copy of the
Legislative Coucil Questionnaire, Number 2,
"The proposed Rule is amended for the sole
purpose of clarifying the time in which the
notices required by Section 9 of the Rule are
sent to consumers. The time-limit language is
amended to create consistency throughout the
Rule.™

So you'll see there on Page 6, in Paragraph
2, the word "within" is added before the words

45 days, and this is just to make it consistent
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with the rest of the Rule where the term within
is used.

The only other change is on that same page,
down on Paragraph D, the words "at least" are
added in the 30 and 60 days time frames. And
again, this is just to create consistency
throughout the Rule.

HEARING OFFICER: And those are the only
changes?

MS. GIBSON: Yes. I would like to point
out something else. On Page 2, under Section
4, the effective date was somehow not ever
changed in the revision process. We are
proposing an effective date of December 1,
2015. That date is in the legislative
guestionnaire. In Exhibit 8, Page 2, Number
11, is the proposed effective date that we sent
to BLR.

HEARING OFFICER: Do you advise leaving the
recordjopen to amend that date in the Rule?

MS. GIBSON: Yes.

HEARING OFFICER: Are there any other
changes or anything in the Rule that we need to
look at?

MS. GIBSON: No, just that effective date.
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HEARING OFFICER: Does anybody have any
comments on the Rule?

(No audible response given)

MS. GIBSON: The comment that we received
from State Farm, which is in Exhibit 14, this
was a written comment that says that State Farm
is in favor of the language and the consistency
that it provides now.

HEARING OFFICER: Do we foresee any issues
with changing the effective date in the Rule?

MS. GIBSON: No.

HEARING OFFICER: 1If there's no further
comments, any additions or change suggested,
then we will leave the record open to update
the effective date. Other than that, the
recordjwill be closed and the hearing is
adjourned.

(WHEREUPON, the proceedings were concluded

in this matter at 10:05 a.m.)
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Reporter before whom the foregoing testimony was
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sworn by me; that the testimony of said witness was
taken by me and was thereafter reduced to typewritten
form under my supervision; that the deposition is a
true and correct record of the testimony given by said
witness; that I am neither counsel for, related to,
nor employed by the parties to the action in which
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employed by the parties hereto, nor financially
interested in the outcome of this action.
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the parties within this action that affects or has a
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DATE:

SUBJECT:

EXHIBIT LIST

September 30, 2015

Proposed Amended Rule 43
“Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

HEARING OFFICER: Russ Galbraith

Chief Deputy Commissioner

Exhibit No.

10.

11.

12.

Description

Designation of Hearing Officer

Arkansas Insurance Department’s Notice of Public Hearing concerning Proposed
Amended Rule 43 “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

Initially filed Proposed Amended Rule 43 “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”
Copy of letter to Arkansas Democrat-Gazette requesting newspaper notice

Copy of Proof of Publication of Hearing on Proposed Amended Rule 43 in the
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette as required by the Arkansas Administrative
Procedures Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-201, et seq.

Copy of electronic mail distribution of Notice of Public Hearing to interested
persons

Copy of cover letter to the Bureau of Legislative Research

Copy Legislative Council Questionnaire

Copy Economic Impact Statement

Copy of courtesy notice to the Attorney General’s Office

Copy of cover letter filing Proposed Amended Rule 43 with the Secretary of State

Copy of courtesy notice to the Arkansas Economic Development Commission



13.

14.

Copy of courtesy notice sent to the Governor’s Office

Public Comments



Mike Beebe

Jay Bradford
Governor

Commissioner

DESIGNATION OF HEARING OFFICER

DATE: September 30, 2015
SUBJECT: PROPOSED AMENDED RULE 43
HEARING OFFICER: SUZANNE TIPTON

GENERAL COUNSEL/DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 23-61-103(e)(1), I hereby delegate Suzanne Tipton,
General Counsel/Deputy Commissioner, to serve as the Hearing Officer in the above-referenced
matter. Pursuant to this Designation, Ms. Tipton will have at her disposal all of the powers and
duties vested in the office of the Commissioner of Insurance for the State of Arkansas.

- e

ALLEN KERR
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS

7-30-15

Date

EXHIBIT

|
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Arkansas Insurance Department

Asa Hutchinson Allen Kerr
Governor Commissioner
DATE: AUGUST 24, 2015
TO: AUTHORIZED INSURANCE COMPANIES, HMO'S, HOSPITAL/MEDICAL

SERVICE CORPORATIONS, FARMERS' MUTUAL AID ASSOCIATIONS
AND INSURER AND AGENT TRADE ASSOCIATIONS

FROM: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
SUBJECT: RULE 43, “UNFAIR CLAIMS SETTLEMENT PRACTICES”

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Please find attached or available by electronic publication by the Arkansas Insurance
Department (“Department”) Proposed Amended Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.”
The Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner™) is proposing to make clerical
modifications to the time-limit language in Section 9 of the Rule.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated §§ 23-61-108(a)(1), 23-61-108(b)(1), 23-76-
108(a), and 25-15-204, and other applicable laws or rules, NOTICE is hereby given that a
PUBLIC HEARING will be held on September 30, 2015, at 9:00 A.M., in the First Floor
Hearing Room, Arkansas Insurance Department (“Department”), 1200 West Third Street, Little
Rock, Arkansas. The purpose of the Public Hearing will be to determine whether the
Commissioner should adopt Proposed Amended Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.”

All interested persons are encouraged to attend the Public Hearing and may appear and
present, orally or in writing, statements, arguments or opinions on the proposed Rule. All
licensees and other interested persons are responsible for notifying all their personnel, agents,
and employees about this Public Hearing. Persons wishing to testify should notify the Legal
Division as soon as possible, and are requested to submit intended statements in writing in
advance. A copy of Proposed Rule 43 can be obtained or viewed on the Legal Division’s
Internet Web Site at http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/legal.htm.

Please direct your inquiries to the Legal Division at (501) 371-2820 or
insurance.legal@arkansas.gov.

Sincerely,

Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888



Rule and Regulation 43
UNFAIR CLAIMS SETTLEMENT PRACTICES

Section

1. Purpose.

2. Authority.

3. Applicability and scope.

4. Effective Date. i

5. Definitions.

6. File and record documentation.

7. Failure to acknowledge pertinent communications.

8. Standards for prompt investigation of claims.

9. Standards for prompt, fair and equitable settlements applicable
to insurers.

10. Standards for prompt, fair and equitable settlements applicable
to private passenger automobile insurance.

11. Claim Filing Requirements of "Health Carriers."

12. Processing of "Clean Claims."

13. Processing of Claims Requiring Additional Information.

14. Claim Processing Standards For "Health Carriers."

15. Request for Investigation.

16. Minimum standards for pre-certification or pre-authorization
reviews as to disability coverage.

17. Severability.

§ 1. Purpose

The purpose of this rule is to define certain minimum standards which, if violated
with such frequency as to indicate a general business practice, will be deemed to
constitute unfair claims settlement practices. Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-66-201(1987), et
seq., and 23-76-103(1987), 23-76-119 (1987) and 23-94-204 (Supp. 1987) prohibit
insurers, health maintenance organizations and risk retention groups doing business in the
State of Arkansas from engaging in unfair claims settlement practices; and provide that, if
any insurer or health maintenance organization or risk retention group performs any of
the acts or practices proscribed by those sections with such frequency as to indicate a
general business practice, then those acts shall constitute an unfair or deceptive act or
practice in the business of insurance.

§ 2. Authority

This rule is issued pursuant to the authority vested in the Commissioner by Ark.
Code Ann. §§ 23-61-108(1987), 23-66-207(1987), 23-76-125(1987), 23-94-107(Supp.
1987), 25-15-202(1987), et seq., and other applicable provisions of Arkansas law.




§ 3. Applicability and scope

This rule applies to all persons, to all insurance policies and insurance contracts
and to all contracts, certificates, subscriber agreements, or other evidences of coverage
issued by insurers, health maintenance organizations and risk retention groups, as
applicable, except policies of Workers' Compensation and Employer's Liability. This rule
is not exclusive, and other acts, not herein specified, may also be deemed to be a
violation of Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-66-201(1987), et seq., and 23-76-103(1987), and 23-
76-119(1987).

§ 4. Effective date

The effective date of this rule is January 1, 2001. Prior to the effective date of this
rule, all provisions of Rule and Regulation 43, which existed prior to February 7, 2000,
shall remain in effect.

§ 5. Definitions

The definitions of "person," "evidence of coverage," and of "insurance policy or
insurance contract" contained in the Trade Practices Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-
203(1987), and in Ark. Code Ann. § 23-76-102(1987), shall apply to this regulation and,
in addition, where used in this regulation:

(a) "Agent" or "Representative" means any individual, corporation, association,
partnership or other legal entity authorized to represent an insurer, health maintenance
organization, or risk retention group with respect to a claim;

(b) "Automobile insurance” includes, but is not limited to, insurance as defined
under Ark. Code Ann. 23-89-301(1987);

(c) "Claimant" means an enrollee, a first party claimant, and/or a third party
claimant, and includes such claimant's designated legal representative and includes a
member of the claimant's immediate family designated by the claimant;

(d) "Complaint” means a written communication primarily expressing a
grievance;

(e) "First party claimant" means an individual, corporation, association,
partnership or other legal entity asserting a right to payment or services under an
insurance policy or contract, or health care plan arising out of the occurrence of the
contingency, loss, injury, or illness covered by such policy, or contract, or plan;

(f) "Insurance Department Complaint" means a written communication regarding
a complaint transmitted by the Arkansas Insurance Department;



(g) "Insurer" means any person, or risk retention group licensed or registered to
issue or who issues any insurance policy or contract in this State;

(h) "Investigation" means all activities of an insurer directly or indirectly related
to determination of liabilities or obligations under coverages afforded by a policy,
contract, or health care plan;

(1) "Notification of claim" means any notification, whether in writing or by other
means acceptable under the terms of an insurance policy, contract, or health care plan to
an insurer or its agent by a claimant, which reasonably apprises the insurer of the facts
pertinent to a claim;

(3) "Risk retention group" means a group as defined under Ark. Code Ann. §23-
94-102(10) (Supp. 1987);

(k) "Third party claimant" means any individual, corporation, association,
partnership or other legal entity asserting a claim against any individual, corporation,
association, partnership or other legal entity insured under an insurance policy or
insurance contract; and

(1) "Workers' Compensation" includes, but is not limited to, Longshoremen's and
Harbor Workers' Compensation.

(m) “Health Carrier” means a health maintenance organization, hospital medical
service corporation or a disability insurance company, that issues Health Insurance
Contracts as defined in Subsection 5(s) of this rule. For purposes of this rule, unless
otherwise stated, the term "Health Carrier" shall include a self-insured governmental or
church plan, as well as third party administrators that administer or adjust disability
benefits for a disability insurer, hospital medical service corporation, health maintenance
organization, self-insured governmental plan or self-insured church plan. A Health
Carrier does not include an automobile insurer paying medical or hospital benefits under
Ark. Code Ann. §23-89-202(1) nor shall it include a self-insured employer health benefits
plan. A Health Carrier also does not include any person, company, or organization,
licensed or registered to issue or who issues any insurance policy or insurance contract in
this State as described in Ark. Code Ann. §§23-62-102, 23-62-104, 23-62-105, 23-62-
106, and 23-62-107 providing medical or hospital benefits for accidental injury or
disability.

(n) “Health Claimant” means a Health Insured, a provider holding a valid
assignment from the Health Insured, or a provider contracted with a Health Carrier, who
is claiming a benefit under a Health Insurance Contract.

(0) "Health Claim Processing” or “to process a health claim” means to pay the
claim, to deny the claim or to notify the Health Claimant in accordance with Subsection
12(b) and Subsection 13(a) of this rule that the Health Carrier needs additional
information to process the Health Claim.



(p) “Health Claim Processing Date” or “Health Claim Payment Date” is the date
the Health Carrier transmits or mails its claim payment, claim denial or notice of the need
for additional information to the Health Claimant.

(@) "Clean Claim" means a claim for payment of health care expenses that is
Submitted on a HCFA 1500, on a UB92, in a format required by the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 ("HIPAA™), or on the carrier's standard claim
form with all required fields completed in accordance with the Health Carrier's published
claim filing requirements. A Clean Claim shall not include a claim (1) for payment of
expenses incurred during a period of time for which premiums are delinquent, (2) for
benefits under a Medicare supplement policy if the claim is not accompanied by an
explanation of Medicare benefits or the Explanation of Medicare Benefits ("EOMB") has
not been otherwise received by the Health Carrier, or (3) for which the Health Carrier
needs additional information in order to resolve one or more of the issues listed in
Subsection 13(b) of this rule.

(r) “Contracted Provider” means a provider that contracts with a Health Carrier to
provide services for "Health Insureds" of such carrier.

(s) “Health Insurance Contract” means a disability insurance policy, a hospital
medical service corporation contract, a health maintenance organization contract or a plan
document issued or provided by a Health Carrier as defined in Subsection 5(m) of this
rule. Health Insurance Contract shall not include a disability income insurance policy, a
long-term care contract, a hospital indemnity contract, an accident only contract, or any
other form of disability insurance policy that provides a benefit as a result of a sickness or
accident that does not directly cover expenses related to health care treatment the insured
receives.

(t) “Health Insured” means an individual who is a covered person under a "Health
Insurance Contract."

(u) “Health Policyholder” means the person who owns the "Health Insurance
Contract" and is responsible to pay premiums for the "Health Insurance Contract."

(v) “Provider” means a physician, hospital or other appropriately licensed health
care provider.

§ 6. File and record documentation

The claim files of insurers, including Health Carriers, shall be subject to
examination by the Commissioner or by his duly appointed designees. Such files shall
contain all notes and work papers pertaining to the claim in such detail that pertinent
events and the dates of such events can be reconstructed.



§ 7. Failure to acknowledge pertinent communications

The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons that are defined as Health
Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

(a) Every insurer, upon receiving notification of a claim shall, within fifteen (15)
working days, acknowledge the receipt of such notice unless payment is made within
such period of time. If an acknowledgement is made by means other than in writing, an
appropriate notation of such acknowledgement shall be made in the claim file of the
insurer and dated. Notification given to an agent of an insurer shall be notification to the
insurer. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-79-126(1987), insurers shall furnish forms for
proof of loss within twenty (20) calendar days after a loss has been reported, or thereafter
waive proof of loss requirements. Insurers shall not require a claimant to calculate
depreciated value of personal property on forms for proof of loss.

(b) Every insurer upon receipt of any inquiry from the Arkansas Insurance
Department respecting a claim shall within fifteen (15) working days of such inquiry
furnish the Department with a reasonably adequate response to the inquiry.

(¢) An appropriate reply shall be made within fifteen (15) working days on all
other pertinent communications from a claimant which reasonably suggest that a
response is expected.

(d) Every insurer, upon receiving notification of a claim, shall promptly provide
necessary claim forms, instructions, and reasonable assistance to claimants so that first
party claimants can comply with the policy conditions and the insurer's reasonable
requirements.

§ 8. Standards for prompt investigation of claims

The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons that are defined as Health
Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

Every insurer shall complete investigation of a claim within forty-five (45)
calendar days after notification of claim, unless such investigation cannot reasonably be
completed within such time. If an investigation cannot be completed within the forty-five
(45) day time period, insurers shall notify claimants that additional time is required and
include with such notification the reasons therefore.

§ 9. Standards for prompt, fair and equitable settlements applicable to insurers

The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons that are defined as Health
Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule, nor to surety and fidelity insurance, or to
mortgage guaranty, or other forms of insurance offering protection against investment
risks.



(a)(1) Within fifteen (15) working days after receipt by the insurer of properly
executed proofs of loss, the first party claimant shall be advised of the acceptance or
denial of the claim by the insurer. No insurer shall deny a claim on the grounds of a
specific policy provision, condition, or exclusion unless reference to such provision,
condition, or exclusion is included in the denial. The denial must be given to the claimant
in writing and the claim file of the insurer shall contain a copy of the denial.

(2) If the insurer needs more time to determine whether a first party claim should
be accepted or denied, it shall so notify the first party claimant in writing within fifteen
(15) working days after receipt of the proofs of loss, stating the reasons more time is
needed. If the investigation remains incomplete, the insurer shall, within forty-five (45)
calendar days from the date of the initial notification and not more than every forty-five
(45) calendar days thereafter, send to such claimant a letter setting forth the reasons
additional time is needed for investigation.

(b) Where there is a reasonable basis supported by specific information available
for review by the Arkansas Insurance Department that the first party claimant has
fraudulently caused or contributed to the loss by arson, the insurer is relieved from the
requirements of subsection (a)(1). The claimant shall be advised of the acceptance or
denial of the claim within a reasonable time following a full investigation after receipt by
the insurer of a properly executed proof of loss. The insurer shall comply with the
provisions of the Arson Reporting-Immunity Statute, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 12-13-
301(1987) -- 12-13-305(1987).

(c¢) Insurers shall not refuse to settle first party claims on the basis that
responsibility for payment should be assumed by others, except as may otherwise be
provided by policy provisions.

(d) Insurers shall not continue or prolong negotiations for settlement of a claim
directly with a claimant who is neither an attorney nor represented by an attorney until
the claimant's rights may be affected by a statute of limitations or a policy or contract
time limit, without giving the claimant written notice that the time limit may be expiring
and may affect the claimant's rights. Such notice shall be given to first party claimants at
least thirty (30) working days and to third party claimants at least sixty (60) calendar days
before the date on which such time limit may expire.

(e) No insurer shall make statements which indicate the rights of a third party
claimant may be impaired if a form or release is not completed within a given period of
time unless the statement is given for the purpose of notifying the third party claimant of
the applicable provision of a statute of limitations, as provided in subsection (d) of
this section.

(f) Insurers shall mail or deliver claim checks or drafts to claimants within ten
(10) working days after the claims are processed, all claim investigations are completed
and said claim files are closed and ready for payment.



(g) No insurer or its agents and representatives shall fail to disclose fully to first
party claimants all pertinent benefits, coverages or other provisions of an insurance
policy or contract under which a claim is presented.

(h) No agent shall conceal from first party claimants benefits, coverages or other
provisions of any insurance policy or insurance contract when such benefits, coverages or
other provisions are pertinent to a claim.

(i) No insurer shall deny a claim for a claimant's failure to exhibit the damaged
property without proof of demand and of an unfounded refusal by the claimant to do so.

() No insurer shall, except where there is a time limit specified in the policy,
make statements, written or otherwise, requiring a claimant to give written notice of loss
or proof of loss within a specified time and which seek to relieve the company of its
obligations if such a time limit is not complied with, unless the failure to comply with
such time limit prejudices the insurer's rights.

(k) No insurer shall request a first party claimant to sign a release that extends
beyond the subject matter that gave rise to the claim payment.

(1) No insurer shall issue checks or drafts in partial settlement of a loss or claim
under a specific coverage which contains language which releases the insurer or its
insured from total liability.

(m) No insurer shall delay payment of any claim under specific coverages under a
contract in an attempt to settle all or a portion of the claims under other coverages
provided by the policy.

§ 10. Standards for prompt, fair and equitable settlements applicable to private
passenger automobile insurance

The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons that are defined as Health
Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

(a) When the insurance policy provides for the adjustment and settlement of first
party automobile total losses on the basis of actual cash value or replacement with
another of like kind and quality, one (1) of the following methods must apply:

(1) The insurer may elect to offer a replacement automobile which is a specific
comparable automobile available to the insured. All applicable taxes, license fees and
other fees incident to transfer of evidence of ownership of the automobile must be paid at
no cost to the insured other than the policy deductible. The offer and any rejection thereof
must be documented in the claim file.



(2) The insurer may elect a cash settlement based upon the actual cost, less any
deductible provided in the policy, to purchase a comparable automobile, including all
applicable taxes, license fees and other fees actually incurred incident to transfer of
evidence of ownership of a comparable automobile. Such cost may be determined by:

(A) The cost of a comparable automobile in the local market area when a
comparable automobile is available in the local market area; or (B) Use of one (1) of two
(2) or more quotations obtained by the insurer from two (2) or more qualified dealers or
appraisal services located within the local market area when a comparable automobile is
not available in the local market area.

(3) When a first party automobile total loss is settled on a basis which deviates
from the methods described in subsections (a)(1) and (2) of this section, the deviation
must be supported by documentation giving particulars of the automobile's condition.
Any deductions from such cost, including deduction for salvage, must be measurable,
discernible, itemized and specified as to dollar amount and shall be appropriate in
amount. The basis for such settlement shall be fully explained to the first party claimant.

(b) Where liability and damages are reasonably clear, insurers shall not
recommend or require that third party claimants make a claim under their own policies
solely to avoid paying claims under such insurer's policy or contract.

(c¢) Insurers shall not require a claimant to travel an unreasonable distance to
inspect a replacement automobile, to obtain a repair estimate, or to have the automobile
repaired at a specific repair shop. Insurers shall not require a claimant to have the
automobile repaired at a specific repair shop as a condition of recovery.

(d) Insurers shall include the first party claimant's deductible, if any, in
subrogation demands. Subrogation recoveries shall be shared on a proportionate basis
with the first party claimant, unless the deductible amount has been otherwise recovered.
No deduction for expenses can be made from the deductible recovery unless an outside
attorney is retained to collect such recovery. The deduction may then be for only a pro
rata share of the allocated loss adjustment expense.

(e) When the insurer elects to repair, and, with the insured's written consent, a
specific repair shop is selected, the insurer shall cause the damaged automobile to be
restored to its condition prior to the loss at the estimate cost with no additional cost to the
claimant other than as stated in the policy and within a reasonable period of time.

(D) If an insurer prepares an estimate of the cost of automobile repairs, such
estimate shall be in an amount for which it may be reasonably expected the damage can
be satisfactorily repaired. The insurer shall give a copy of the estimate to the claimant and
may furnish to the claimant the names of one (1) or more conveniently located repair
shops.



(g) When the amount claimed is reduced because of betterment or depreciation all
information for such reduction shall be contained in the claim file. Such deductions shall
be itemized and specified as to dollar amount and shall be appropriate for the amount of
deductions.

. aim Eilin equirements o ealt arriers
§ 11. Claim Fili g Requi f "Health C iers"

The provisions of this section shall only apply to person that are defined as Health
Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

(a) Every Health Carrier upon receipt of any written inquiry from the Arkansas
Insurance Department respecting a claim shall within fifteen (15) working days of such
inquiry furnish the Department with a reasonably adequate response to the inquiry.

(b) If, after receipt of a complaint, the Commissioner determines that a Health
Carrier's claim filing requirements are unreasonable or unduly burdensome, the
Commissioner shall direct the Health Carrier to discontinue using such claim filing
requirements.

(c) A Health Carrier shall provide a copy of its claim filing requirements to:

(1) a contracted provider at the time the Health Carrier and provider enter
into their contract and within 15 days prior to a change to the claim filing requirements,

(2) a Health Care Insured or provider upon request, within 15 days;
§ 12. Processing of Clean Claims

The provisions of this section shall only apply to persons that are defined as
Health Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

(a) A Health Carrier shall pay or deny a clean claim within 30 days after receipt
by the Health Carrier if the claim was submitted electronically, or within 45 days after
receipt if the claim was submitted by other means.

(b) A Health Carrier shall notify the Health Claimant within 30 days after receipt
of the claim if the Health Carrier determines that the claim must be processed in
accordance with Section 13 of this rule.

(c) A Health Carrier which fails to pay or deny a clean claim in accordance with
Subsection (a) of this section or give notice in accordance with Subsection (b) of this
section shall pay a penalty to the Health Claimant for the period beginning on the sixty-
first day after receipt of the clean claim and ending on the clean claim payment date (the
delinquent payment period), calculated as follows: the amount of the clean claim
payment times 12% per annum times the number of days in the delinquent payment



period, divided by 365. Such penalty shall be paid without any action by the Health
Claimant.

§ 13. Processing of Claims Requiring Additional Information

The provisions of this section shall only apply to persons that are defined as
Health Carriers under Section 5(m) of this Rule.

(a) If the resolution of the claim requires the Health Carrier to obtain additional
information to resolve one or more of the issues listed in subsection (b) of this section,
the Health Carrier shall, within 30 days after receipt of the claim, notify the Health
Claimant. The Health Carrier's notice shall give an explanation of the additional
information that is required. The Health Carrier may suspend the claim until it receives
the requested information, or in the case of a Medicare supplement policy, the claim may
be suspended until the Health Carrier receives the EOMB.

(b) When there is a reasonable basis for doing so, a Health Carrier may request
one or more of the following items to resolve the claim:

1. information in order to determine if a Health Insurance Contract limitation or
exclusion is applicable to the claim;

2. medical information in order to determine the price for a medical procedure
without a Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Code or a Health Care Financing
Administration Common Procedure (HCPC) Code;

3. information in order to determine if a Health Insured who received the claimed
services is eligible under the terms of the Health Insurance Contract;

4. information in order to determine if the claim is covered by another Health
Carrier, workers’ compensation, a government supported program, or a liable third party;

5. information in order to determine the obligation of each Health Carrier or
government program under coordination of benefits rules;

6. information in order to determine if there has been fraud or a fraudulent or
material misrepresentation with respect to the claim; or

7. payment from the policyholder of premiums that were delinquent at the time
the claimed services were rendered.

(c) A Health Carrier shall reopen and pay or deny a previously suspended claim
within 30 days after the Health Carrier receives all the information it requested.

(d) A Health Carrier which fails to pay or deny a claim in accordance with
Subsection C of this section, and that is not already subject to the penalty for the claim
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imposed by Subsection 12(c), shall pay a penalty to the Health Claimant for the period
beginning on the forty-sixth day after the last item of information requested was received
and ending on the claim payment date (the delinquent payment period), calculated as
follows: the amount of the claim payment times 12% per annum times the number of
days in the delinquent payment period, divided by 365. Such penalty shall be paid
without any further action by the Health Claimant.

§ 14. Claim Processing Standards For Health Carriers

The provisions of this section shall only apply to persons that are defined as
Health Carriers under Section 5.(m) of this Rule.

(a) Every Health Carrier doing business in this state shall strive to meet the
following claim timeliness standards for processing clean claims and other [Section 13]

claims:

Eighty-five (85%) percent of claims processed within 30 days
Ninety-eight (98%) percent of claims processed within 45 days

(b) If requested by the Commissioner, a Health Carrier shall provide a claims
processing report showing the percentage of clean claims and other claims the carrier
processed for residents of this state during the previous quarter and year to date. The
report will classify claims as follows:

Clean Claims

Percent of claims processed within 30 days following receipt of the claim

Percent of claims processed within 45 days following receipt of the claim

Percent of claims processed after 45 days following receipt of the claim

Other [Section 13] Claims

(1) Percent of claims processed within 30 days following reopening of the claim.

(2) Percent of claims processed within 45 days following reopening of the claims.

(3) Percent of claims processed after 45 days following receipt of the claim.

(c) If a claims processing report to the Commissioner or other evidence obtained
by the Commissioner shows a Health Carrier's clean claim or other [Section 13] Health

Claim Processing has fallen below the following regulatory action standards:

Sixty (60%) percent of claims processed within 30 days
Eighty-five (85%) percent of claims processed within 45 days

11



1. the Health Carrier shall be required to submit to the Commissioner a
remedial action plan setting forth how and when its Health Claim Processing shall be
brought above the regulatory action standards. In addition, at the Commissioner’s option,
the Commissioner may conduct an on site examination of the Health Carrier's Health
Claim Processing.

2. Depending upon the Health Carrier's response, the Commissioner, at his
option, may require the Health Carrier to provide notice to its Health Claimants and
contracted providers of delays in Health Claim Processing and the steps being taken to
improve this status.

3. A Health Carrier which has failed to meet the regulatory action standards
shall be required to provide the Commissioner a claim processing report on a monthly
basis until the Health Carrier meets the 85% and 98% standards for both clean claim and
other [Section 13] claim processing for two consecutive quarters.

4. Nothing in this rule shall limit or restrict the Commissioner from pursuing
any other remedy or action against the Health Carrier under Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-
201(1987), nor act to limit any other administrative action against a Health Carrier under
the Arkansas Insurance Code.

(d) A Health Carrier may be waived from the Health Claim Processing standards
under this Section 9 if its Health Claim Processing system is seriously impacted by a
natural disaster or if the Health Carrier obtains approval from the Commissioner for a
good cause shown. A Health Carrier, in requesting the Commissioner’s waiver of the
Health Claim Processing standards, must specify the reason(s), give its best estimate
when the Health Claim Processing standards will again be met, and commit to provide
the Commissioner periodic progress reports. In the case of a natural disaster, the Health
Carrier shall notify the Commissioner as soon as possible after the event, specify when
the claims system will be restored and commit to submitting periodic progress reports to
the Commissioner. The Commissioner shall publish a waiver granted to a Health Carrier
on the Arkansas Insurance Department web site.

§ 15. Request for Investigation

The provisions of this section shall only apply to persons that are defined as
Health Carriers under Section 5.(m) of this Rule.

(a) A Health Claimant may file a consumer complaint with the Commissioner
relating to a Health Carrier when there is a reasonable basis for such complaint due to the
failure of the Health Carrier to process claims according to this rule. However, if the
Health Claimant is not the actual insured under the policy, nor the enrollee in the plan,
the Health Claimant may file a consumer complaint with the Commissioner where there
is a reasonable basis to believe that the Health Carrier has exhibited a practice of not
paying that provider's claims according to this rule.
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(b) The Commissioner shall investigate such complaint and shall make a report of
his findings available to the Health Claimant who filed the complaint.

§ 16. Minimum standards for pre-certification or pre-authorization reviews as to
disability coverage

The purpose of this section is to define certain minimum standards for insurers
utilizing pre-certification or pre-authorization reviews to ensure that such cost-
containment procedures of disability insurers and health care plans are reasonable and do
not unduly delay, or interfere with or impede the authorized practice of medicine and
delivery of reasonable medical care. For purposes of this rule, acts of the claims
administrator in performing pre-certification reviews shall be deemed to be acts of the
insurer.

From and after one hundred and eighty (180) days from the effective date of this
rule, insurers utilizing such reviews shall establish reasonable procedures to:

(a) Ensure that pre-certification reviews are completed in a prompt and timely
manner;

(b) Avoid excessive, repetitious and duplicative requests for information to
claimants and their health care providers;

() Provide for reconsideration or medical reviews following disapproval or denial
of pre-certification requests of insureds and claimants; and

(d) Provide for prompt peer medical review following disapproval or denial of
pre-certification requests of insureds or claimants as to medically-necessary and/or life-
threatening major surgical procedures.

§ 17. Severability

Any section or provision of this rule held by a court to be invalid or
unconstitutional will not affect the validity of any other section or provision of this rule.

ALLEN KERR
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS

DATE
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Asa Hutchinson Allen Kerr

Governor Commissioner
August 25,2015
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Via electronic mail
Attn: Pam Dicus, Legal Ad Department

P.O. Box 2221
Little Rock, AR 72203

RE:  Legal Notices: Public Hearing on Proposed Rule 43

Dear Ms. Dicus:

The Insurance Commissioner is proposing to adopt amended Rule 43 “Unfair Claims
Settlement Practices.” In order to publish it per the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act and
the Arkansas Insurance Code, the Department needs to publish a FULL RUN legal ad or notice
on the Commissioner's Public Hearing for the Rule set on September 30, 2015 at 9:00 a.m.

In compliance with Arkansas Code Annotated § 25-15-204 and § 16-3-102, please find

enclosed a legal ad for Notice of Public Hearing which should be published for three (3)
consecutive days beginning on August 25, 2015.

Please send the billing invoices to Mrs. Pam Looney, Assistant Commissioner,
Accounting Division, Arkansas Insurance Department, 1200 West Third, Little Rock, Arkansas
72201-1904, accompanied by a printed copy of the Legal Ad and proof of publication.

Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

Amanda J. Andrews

Associate Counsel

(501) 371-2841
amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov

encl. Legal Ad for Proposed Amended Rule 43 Adoption
EXHIBIT

P

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888



NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Insurance Department will host a Public Hearing on September 30, 2015 beginning
at 9:00 a.m. in the First Floor Hearing Room, Arkansas Insurance Department, 1200 West Third
Street (Third and Cross Streets), Little Rock, Arkansas, to consider adoption of proposed amended
Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.” Copies of proposed amended Rule 43 may be
obtained by writing or calling the Arkansas Insurance Department, or by visiting our Internet site
at http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/legal.htm. For more information, please contact LoRraine
Rowland, Legal Division, Arkansas Insurance Department, at 501-371-2820.



Amanda Andrews

\

crom: Amanda Andrews
ent: Tuesday, August 25, 2015 9:52 AM
To: 'legalads@arkansasonline.com’
Cc: T~ LoRraine Rowland
Subject: Request for Legal Ad from Arkansas Insurance Department
Attachments: DemGaz-Legal Ad.pdf

Dear Ms. Dicus:

Attached please find a request for a legal ad for Proposed Amended Rule 43 to run beginning today, if possible.

Thank you for your assistance.

Amanda J. Andrews

Associate Counsel, Legal Division
Arkansas Insurance Department
1200 West 3rd Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

Office: (501) 371-2841
Facsimile: (501) 371-2639

{
\_ .nanda.andrews@arkansas.gov



Arkansas Democrat

I~
Ao

Bazette

STATEMENT OF LEGAL ADVERTISING

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
1200 W THIRD
LITTLE ROCK AR 72201

ATTN: Amanda Andrews

REMIT TO: :

ARKANSAS DEMOCRAT-GAZETTE, INC.
P.0. BOX 2221

LITTLE ROCK, AR 72203

DATE : 08/29/15 INVOICE #: 3034396 BILLING QUESTIONS CALL 378-3812
ACCT #: L5478029 P.O. #:

AD COPY
STATE OF ARKANSAS, } ;
COUNTY OF PULASKI, } ss. NOTCEFPUBLIC i

I, Yvette Hines, do solemnly swear that I am the
Legal Billing Clerk of the Arkansas Democrat -
Gazette, a daily newspaper printed and published
in said County, State of Arkansas; that I was so
related to this publication at and during the
publication of the annexed legal advertisement in
the matter of:

HEARING
pending in the Court, in said County, and
at the dates of the several publications of said
Fvertisement stated below, and that during said
¢ riods and at said dates, said newspaper was-
printed and had a bona fide circulation in said

“The'Arkansas‘insurance:De-
pariment will host a Public Hear-
ing on Sepiember 30,2015'
:ginning at%:00.a.m. in the First:
Floor Hearing Room, Ancanwg m-t !
SuranceiDepartment, 1200 West
Third' Street (Third:and:Cross

-Streets), Litte Rock; Arkansas, to

:consider adoption of proposed
amended Rile 43, *Unfair Claims-
Settlement Practices.” Capies of
proposed amended Rule 43 may -
be obtained by writing of calling :
the Arkansas Insurance Degart-
~ment, or.by visiting our Internet
site at hitp:/fwww.insurance ar-;.
kansas.govflegal. htm. - For more.

: Information, please:contagt LoR--
’rélrtlrseaf;o,wland, Le%al Division, Ar--

: nsurance Dej :

sa1-a71om, e &t

733
County; that said newspaper had been regularly L

printed and published in said County, and had a
bona fide circulation therein for the period of
one month before the date of the first publication
of said advertisement; and that said advertisement
was published in the regular daily issues of said
newspaper as stated below.

DATE DAY LINAGE RATE DATE DAY LINAGE RATE
08/27 Thu 30 1.35
08/28 Fri 30 1.35
08/29 sat 30 1.35

TOTAL COST ———m= = m o 121.50
Billing Ad #: .73333576 : : T

g , OFFICIAL SEAL - No. 12347408
Sy W‘{E e ~ DEANNA GRIFFIN
o - NOTARY PUBLIC - ARKANSAS

_ PULASKI COUNTY
Subscribe d sworn to his Q? ML COMMISEION BXPIRES 3308018 o
dayof %A« Y 20 L
K e D s T

-gJQkAA;ANJZ
: Nmﬁ§@¢m
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7 (Bazette

Arkansas Democrat %
STATEMENT OF LEGAL ADVERTISING

REMIT TO:

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

1200 W THIRD ARKANSAS DEMOCRAT-GAZETTE, INC
LITTLE ROCK AR 72201 P.O. BOX 2221

LITTLE ROCK, AR 72203
ATTN: Amanda Andrews

DATE : 08/29/15 INVOICE #: 3034396

ACCT #: L5478029 P.O. #: BILLING QUESTIONS CALL 378-3812
STATE OF ARKANSAS, } AD COPY
COUNTY OF PULASKI, } ss.

I, Yvette Hines, do solemnly swear that I am the
Legal Billing Clerk of the Arkansas Democrat -

Gazette, a daily newspaper printed and published
in said County, State of Arkansas; that I was so

related to this publication at and during the PLEASE
publication of the annexed legal advertisement in

the matter of: REMIT

, HEARING

pending in the Court, in said County, and THIS
-at the dates of the several publications of said COPY
.advertisement stated below, and that during said

7riods and at said dates, said newspaper was WITH

{  .nted and had a bona fide circulation in said

County; that said newspaper had been regularly PAYMENT

printed and published in said County, and had a
bona fide circulation therein for the period of
one month before the date of the first publication

- - . ! IN ACCORDANCE WITH
was DubLichod 1h tme emmtar ansSatd 2dvertisement FEDERAL RESERVE
newspaper as stated below. GUIDELINES, CHECKS
YOU SEND US FOR
PAYMENT MAY BE
PROCESSED

DATE DAY LINAGE RATE DATE DAY LINAGE RATE ELECTRONICALLY.

oerzr T 30T S THIS MEANS CHECs

08/29 Sat 30 1.35 CLEAR FASTER AND
BANK STATEMENTS
ARE VALID PROOF OF
PAYMENT.

TOTAL COST —==mmm— e 121.50

Billing Ad #: 73333576

Subscribed and sworn to me this
day of » 20

Notary Public




LoRraine Rowland

rrom: Arkansas Insurance Department
<insurance.legal=arkansas.gov@mail35.atl71.mcdlv.net> on behalf of Arkansas
Insurance Department <insurance.legal@arkansas.gov>

Sent: Tuesday, August 25, 2015 5:30 PM
To: LoRraine Rowland
Subject: Notice of Hearing: Proposed Amended Rule 43
Notice of Hearing: ??Proposed Amended Rule 43 View this email in your browser

Arkansas Insurance Department

Allen Kerr
Commissioner

Asa Hutchinson
Governor

Legal Notice

Notice of Hearing
Proposed Amended Rule 43

Please click on the link below to view the Department's Proposed Amended Rule
43 "UNFAIR CLAIMS SETTLEMENT PRACTICES" and Notice of Hearing

information.

hito://insurance.arkansas.gov/prop-rules.him

Direct your inquiries to the Legal Division at (501) 371-2820

or insurance.legal@arkansas.gov.

EXHIBIT
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You are receiving this email because you opted in at our website or because you provided your email address

when applying for a license with AID. If you no longer wish to receive emails from the Arkansas Insurance
Department, please click unsubscribe from this list.

update subscription preferences

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
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Arkansas Insurance Department

Asa Hutchinson Allen Kerr
Governor Commissioner
August 24, 2015
Donna Davis Via Hand Delivery

Arkansas Legislative Council

Arkansas Bureau of Legislative Research
State Capitol, Suite 315

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

RE:  Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 43: “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

Dear Mrs. Davis:

Enclosed for your review and for filing with the Subcommittee of the Arkansas
Legislative Council, is the Arkansas Insurance Department’s proposed Amended Rule 43,
“Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.” The Department is proposing to amend Rule 43 to make
clerical modifications to the time-limit language in Section 9 of the Rule.

The Department has scheduled a public hearing for September 30, 2015, at 9:00 A.M., at
our office in the first floor Hearing Room, to consider adopting this proposed amended Rule. I
have enclosed a triplicate set of the proposed Rule, our Notice of Public Hearing, the standard
Questionnaire, Financial Impact Statement as well as a summary of the proposed Rule.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (501) 371-2841 or amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov
if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

ERESEARCH

. .. . st ang Lng IV ACH I
cc:  LoRraine Rowland, Administrative Analyst LEGISLATIV
Jessica Sutton at Bureau of Legislative Services

encl.

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.aransas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. {866) 660-0888



QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND JOINT INTERIM COMMITTEE

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY___ Arkansas Insurance Department

DIVISION Legal Division
DIVISION DIRECTOR Suzanne Tipton
CONTACT PERSON Amanda Andrews

ADDRESS 1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
PHONE NO._501-371-2820__ FAX NO._501-371-2639__E-MAIL_amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov
NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING __ Amanda Andrews
PRESENTER E-MAIL _ amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets,
if necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short
Title of this Rule” below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the
front of two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

S 0 Fr

Donna K. Davis

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research
Room 315, State Capitol

Little Rock, AR 72201

e ok sk ok ok sk ok sk ok ok sk ok sk ok sk sk ok sk sk ok sk ok sk ok sk ok ok ke sk ok sk ok ok ke sk ke sk ke sk ok sk ok sk ok sk ok s ok sk sk s sk s o sk ok sk ok sk ok stk sk stk ok ok sk skok kb sk ok sk ok ok ok

1. What is the short title of this rule?
Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”
2, What is the subject of the proposed rule?
The proposed Rule is amended for the sole purpose of clarifying the time in which the notices

required by Section 9 of the Rule are sent to consumers. The time-limit language is amended to
create consistency throughout the Rule.

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes  No X

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?
Yes ~ No X
If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule? N/A X
When does the emergency rule expire? N/A X

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Administrativ
Procedure Act? N/A X  Yes No

5. Is this a new rule? Yes No X  Ifyes, please provide a brief summary explaining

EXHIBIT
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10.

11.

12.

13.

the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes No_ X Ifyes, acopy of the repealed rule is to be
included with your completed questionnaire. If it is being replaced with a new rule, please
provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule does.

Is this an amendment to an existing rule? Yes X No__ If yes, please attach a mark-up
showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the substantive changes.

The proposed Rule is amended for the sole purpose of clarifying the time in which the notices
required by Section 9 of the Rule are sent to consumers. The time-limit language is amended to
create consistency throughout the Rule.

Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give
Arkansas Code citation.

Arkansas Code Annotated §§ 23-61-108 and 23-66-207
What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary?
The proposed amendment to Rule 43 will eliminate confusion as to the time and frequency with

which to send the notice of additional time to complete investigation and notice of expiration of
statute of limitations.

Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet
as required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b).

Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes X No

If yes, please complete the following:

Date: September 30, 2015

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Arkansas Insurance Department, First Floor Hearing Room

When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
On the date of the hearing, September 30, 2015, unless the Commissioner desires to keep the
record open for more comments following the hearing.

What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
As currently drafted on December 1, 2015.

Do you expect this rule to be controversial? Yes No X  Ifyes, please explain.
Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these

rules? Please provide their position (for or against) if known.

None are known at this time.



FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT Arkansas Insurance Department
DIVISION Legal Division
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Amanda Andrews

TELEPHONE NO.__371-2820__ FAX NO.__371-2820__ EMAIL: amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov

To comply with Act 1104 of 1995, please complete the following Financial Impact Statement and file two
copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

1 Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact?
Yes No X Unknown. We have not calculated financial impact to
health benefit plans subject to the proposed Rule in terms of premium rate or cost impact.

2. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule affect small businesses?
Yes No_ X

If yes, please attach a copy of the economic impact statement required to be filed with the
Arkansas Economic Development Commission under Arkansas Code § 25-15-301 et seq.

3. If you believe that the development of a financial impact statement is so speculative as to be cost
prohibited, please explain.
N/A

4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please give the incremental cost

for implementing the rule. Please indicate if the cost provided is the cost of the program.

We do not anticipate any costs to the Department or State in our implementation of this Rule.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)
Total Total
5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any party subject to the proposed, amended, or

repealed rule? Identify the party subject to the proposed rule and explain how they are affected.
N/A



Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ N/A $ N/A

What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to the agency to implement this rule? Is this the cost of
the program or grant? Please explain.

N/A
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ $




ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT

OF PROPOSED RULES OR REGULATIONS
EO 05-04: Regulatory Flexibility

“wepartment: Arkansas Insurance Department Division: Legal

Contact Person:Amanda J. Andrews Date: August 24, 2015
Contact Phone: 501-371-2841 Contact Email: amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov

Title or Subject: Proposed Amended Rule 43, "Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

10.

Benefits of the Proposed Rule or Regulation

Explain the need for the proposed change(s). Did any complaints motivate you to pursue regulatory action?

If so, please explain the nature of such complaints.
Proposed Amended Rule 43 is revised for the sole purpose of clarifying the time in which the notices required by Section 9 of the Rule are sent to
consumers. The time-limit language is amended fo create consistency throughout the Rule.

What are the top three benefits of the proposed rule or regulation?
The primary benefit will be to eliminate confusion as to the time and frequency with which to send the notice of additional time to complete
investigation and notice of expiration of statute of limitations.

What, in your estimation, would be the consequence of taking no action, thereby maintaining the status quo?
There will be confusion in the industry as to the time and frequency with which to send the notice of additional time to complete investigation and
notice of expiration of statute of limitations.

Describe market-based alternatives or voluntary standards that were considered in place of the proposed

regulation and state the reason(s) for not selecting those alternatives.
N/A

Impact of Proposed Rule or Regulation

Estimate the cost to state government of collecting information, completing paperwork, filing,

recordkeeping, auditing and inspecting associated with this new rule or regulation.
None.

What types of small businesses will be required to comply with the proposed rule or regulation? Please

estimate the number of small businesses affected.
None.

Does the proposed regulation create barriers to entry? If so, please describe those barriers and why those

barriers are necessary.
None.

Explain the additional requirements with which small business owners will have to comply and estimate the

costs associated with compliance.
None.

State whether the proposed regulation contains different requirements for different sized entities, and

explain why this is, or is not, necessary.
None.

Describe your understanding of the ability of small business owners to implement changes required by the

proposed regulation.
None.

How does this rule or regulation compare to similar rules and regulations in other states or the feder

government?
Approximately thirty-two (32) other states have a similar rule or regulation.

Provide a summary of the input your agency has received from small business or small business

advocates about the proposed rule or regulation.
N/A




Arkansas Insurance Department

Asa Hutchinson
Governor

Allen Kerr
Commissioner

August 24, 2015

Sara Farris Via Electronic Mail
Office of the Attorney General

323 Center Street, Suite 200

Little Rock, AR 72201

RE:  Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 43: “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”
Dear Ms. Farris:

Enclosed for your review is the Arkansas Insurance Department’s proposed Amended
Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.” The Arkansas Insurance Department
(“Department”) is proposing to amend Rule 43 to make clerical modifications to the time-limit
language in Section 9 of the Rule.

The Department has scheduled a public hearing for September 30, 2015, at 9:00 A.M., at
our office in the first floor Hearing Room, to consider adopting this proposed amended Rule.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (501) 371-2841 or amanda.andrews(@arkansas.gov
if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Mi \A(v\o\ij

Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

ce: LoRraine Rowland, Administrative Analyst

encl.

EXHIBIT

I D

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888
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Amanda Andrews

~rom:

Sent:

To:

Subject:
Attachments:

Sara,

Amanda Andrews

Monday, August 24, 2015 3:51 PM
'sara.farris@arkansasag.gov'
Proposed Amended Rule 43
doc01859820150824152708.pdf

Please see attached correspondence regarding Proposed Amended Rule 43.

Amanda J. Andrews

Associate Counsel, Legal Division
Arkansas Insurance Department

1200 West 3rd Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Office: (501) 371-2841
Facsimile: (501) 371-2639

amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov




Asa Hutchinson
Governor

Allen Kerr
Commissioner

August 24, 2015

Arkansas Secretary of State
Attn. Arkansas Register
500 Woodlane Street,
Little Rock, AR 72201

RE:  Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 43: “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

Dear Secretary Martin:

The Arkansas Insurance Department is proposing to amend 43, “Unfair Claims
Settlement Practices,” to make clerical modifications to the time-limit language in Section 9 of
the Rule. For that reason, the Department has scheduled a public hearing for September 30,
2015, at 9:00 A.M., at our office in the first floor Hearing Room, to consider adopting this
proposed amended Rule. Enclosed are the Notice of Public Hearing and a copy of the proposed
amended Rule.

Will you please arrange to publish the information in a format acceptable to the Secretary
for at least 30 days prior to the hearing? I would appreciate it if you could provide me with a
confirmation that I can use as an exhibit in the public hearing.

An electronic filing will be made within the statutorily required 7 days. I thank you for
your help. Please do not hesitate to contact me at (501) 371-2841 or
amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

M 3 \f\»\&st

Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

cc: LoRraine Rowland, Administrative Analyst

encl.

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - {501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services {800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888



Arkansas Insurance Department

Asa Hutchinson Allen Kerr
Governor Commissioner
August 24,2015
Pat Brown
Economic Development Commission
One Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72202

RE:  Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 43: “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

Dear Mrs. Brown:

Enclosed for your review is the Arkansas Insurance Department’s proposed Amended
Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.” The Department is proposing to amend Rule 43
to make clerical modifications to the time-limit language in Section 9 of the Rule.

The Department has scheduled a public hearing for September 30, 2015, at 9:00 A.M., at
our office in the first floor Hearing Room, to consider adopting this proposed amended Rule. I
have enclosed a triplicate set of the proposed Rule, our Notice of Public Hearing, the standard
Questionnaire, Financial Impact Statement as well as a summary of the proposed Rule.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (501) 371-2841 or amanda.andrews(@arkansas.cov
if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

‘ﬂ(“\ew\cio- T Awndianos
Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

ce: LoRraine Rowland, Administrative Analyst
Jessica Sutton at Bureau of Legislative Services

encl.

1200 West Third Street, Littie Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888
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‘Arkansas Insurance Department

Asa Hutchinson Allen Kerr

Governor Commissioner
August 24, 2015
Justin Tate Via Electronic Mail
Office of the Governor
State Capitol Building

Little Rock, AR 72201

RE: Arkansas Insurance Department Rule 43: “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”

Dear Mr. Tate:

Enclosed for your review is the Arkansas Insurance Department’s proposed Amended
Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices.” The Arkansas Insurance Department
(“Department”) is proposing to amend Rule 43 to make clerical modifications to the time-limit
language in Section 9 of the Rule.

The Department has scheduled a public hearing for September 30, 2015, at 9:00 A.M., at
our office in the first floor Hearing Room, to consider adopting this proposed amended Rule.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (501) 371-2841 or amanda.andrews(@arkansas.gov
if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Amanda J. Andrews
Associate Counsel

cc: LoRraine Rowland, Administrative Analyst

encl.

EXHIBIT

.

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0838



] Amanda Andrews
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rrom: Amanda Andrews

Sent: Monday, August 24, 2015 3:47 PM

To: Justin Tate (Justin.Tate@governor.arkansas.gov)
Subject: Proposed Amended Rule 43

Attachments: doc01859720150824152639.pdf

Justin,

Please see attached correspondence.

Amanda J. Andrews

Associate Counsel, Legal Division
Arkansas Insurance Department
1200 West 3rd Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

Office: (501) 371-2841
Facsimile: (501) 371-2639
amanda.andrews@arkansas.gov

P Original Message-----

_om: donotreply@arkins.com [mailto:donotreply@arkins.com]
Sent: Monday, August 24, 2015 3:27 PM
To: Amanda Andrews
Subject:

CS 8000i
[00:c0:ee:ab5:df:74]






MITCHELL || WILLIAMS

Martha McKenzie Hill 425 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 1800
Direct Dial: 501-688-8877 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-3525
Fax: 501-918-7877 Telephone: 501-688-8800
E-mail: mhill@mwlaw.com Fax: 501-688-8807

September 30, 2015

VIA HAND DELIVERY

Legal Division

Arkansas Insurance Department
1200 West 3rd Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

Re: Rule 43, “Unfair Claims Settlement Practices”
To Whom It May Concern:

On behalf of our client State Farm Insurance Companies (“State Farm™), I am pleased to submit
comments regarding the proposed changes to Rule 43. State Farm is the largest personal lines
insurance company in Arkansas with more than 200 independent State Farm agents selling
insurance and financial service products throughout the state. State Farm insures more than
560,000 automobiles in Arkansas. Providing proper claim handling is important to State Farm
and an obligation they meet every day.

While these proposed changes only encompass a few words, they are important in order to help
align Arkansas Rule 43 with the NAIC model upon which this regulation is based. The purpose
of this model regulation is to establish minimum standards for the investigation and disposition
of property and casualty claims and some form of this regulation has been adopted by at least
thirty-two states. Consistent claim handling practices benefit consumers and help ensure proper
handling by insurers. Aligning Rule 43 to be more consistent with the NAIC model will allow
consumers to be provided with certain notices regarding their claim at an earlier point in time.

For these reasons, State Farm supports the Arkansas Insurance Department’s proposed changes
to Rule 43. State Farm urges a quick implementation of these rule changes. Thank you for the
opportunity to present comments. Should you have any questions about or wish to discuss these
comments, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

MITCHELL, WILLIAMS, SELIG,
GATES & WOODYARD, P.L.L.C. N

el igT oL

Martha McKenzie Hill

cc: Mike Lane
T. Ark Monroe, III
Derrick W. Smith

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C. | Attorneysat Law

MitchellWilliamsLaw.com
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