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December 4, 2018 

 

 

BULLETIN NO. 11-2018 

 

TO:  ALL LICENSED INSURERS, AUTHORIZED, FORMERLY 

AUTHORIZED AND UNAUTHORIZED INSURERS, SURPLUS LINES 

INSURERS, HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS, NATIONAL 

ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS, PRODUCER AND 

INSURANCE COMPANY TRADE ASSOCIATIONS, AND OTHER 

INTERESTED PARTIES 

 

FROM:  ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

  

SUBJECT:  NEW OPTION FOR FILING AND PAYING SURPLUS LINES 

INSURANCE PREMIUM TAXES  
 

This Bulletin is applicable to any insurer, surplus lines insurer, health maintenance organization, 

or other entity which is required by any section of the Arkansas Code to report and pay premium 

taxes.  In 2015, the Arkansas Insurance Department (AID) implemented OPTins (Online 

Premium Tax for Insurance) for insurance companies filing and paying Premium Tax.  This 

option is now being extended to Surplus Lines Insurers.   

 

OPTins, a product of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), has been 

developed to facilitate state specific forms and payments.  In 2015, Arkansas mandated the use 

of OPTins for companies to file and pay their Estimated Quarterly Premium Tax. This mandate 

was not applicable to Surplus Lines Insurers. 

 

OPTins will be available starting January 1, 2019 as an option for Surplus Lines Insurers to file 

and pay their monthly and annual taxes.  At this time, this is strictly an option for Surplus Lines 

Insurers and AID will continue to accept filings and payments by mailing in the form and check. 

 

Submitting tax filings through OPTins is simple and requires no formal training.  There are no 

licensing fees or special software needed.  Easy to follow instructions are available at: 

http://www.optins.org.  To implement, contact the OPTins Marketing Team at 

optinsmktg@naic.org or call (816) 783-8787. Setup of a new account takes 7-10 business days. 

If you are already registered to use OPTins for filings in other states, you are set up to file in 

Arkansas and do not need to contact OPTins Marketing. 

 

Once registered and set up, simply log in, upload filing forms and submit payment online.  There 

will be no paper checks – everything is electronic and tax forms along with payment are received 

http://www.optins.org/


at the AID immediately upon submission by the company or producer.  There is a nominal fee of 

5% of tax due up to a maximum of ten dollars ($10.00) to file through OPTins. 

 

For any questions regarding this Bulletin, please contact Courtney Traylor in the Accounting 

Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department at 501-371-2605 or by e-mail at 

Insurance.Accounting@arkansas.gov. 
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