BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN THE MATTER OF: AID ORDER NO. 2017- _ 47

RICKY BRADY
RESPONDENT

ORDER DENYING PRODUCER LICENSE APPLICATION

On this day, the matter of the application for a producer license of Ricky
Brady (“Respondent”) came before Allen Kerr, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner
(“Commissioner”). A hearing was held on May 12, 2017, in the First Floor Hearing
Room of the Arkansas Insurance Department (“Department”) pursuant to the
Notice of Hearing dated May 2, 2017. The hearing was held before Chief Deputy
Commissioner Russ Galbraith (“Hearing Officer”) pursuant to his appointment by
the Commissioner in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-61-103(e)(1). The
Department was represented by Gray Allen Turner, Associate Counsel. The

Respondent was present and participated in the hearing.
FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commissioner of Insurance has jurisdiction pursuant to the
Arkansas Insurance Code, specifically Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-60-101, et seq.

2. Respondent, Ricky Brady, received notice of the hearing and
participated in the hearing..

3. Respondent resides in Benton County, Arkansas.

4, Respondent applied for an Arkansas resident insurance producer



5. Respondent submitted an Arkansas resident producer application to
the Arkansas Insurance Department on April 9, 2014. His application was denied
on April 19, 2017. Respondent filed a timely notice of appeal and requested a
hearing.

6. On his producer application, Respondent included documentation from
the State of Louisiana that he had a child support arrearage in the amount of
$39,466.

7. Respondent intentionally stopped making child support payments in
92009. At that time, his children were 17 and 15 years old.

8. Respondent is currently paying child support through an involuntary

wage garnishment.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-512(a)(12) authorizes the Department to deny
an application for an insurance producer's license if the applicant has failed to
comply with an administrative or court order imposing a child support obligation.

2. Respondent failed to comply with a court order when he intentionally
stopped making child support payments in 2009. He now has an arrearage of
$39,466. Respondent's actions were a violation of Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-512(a)(12).

3. To obtain a insurance producer license an applicant must be "deemed
by the commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of

good personal and business reputation, and these qualifications must continue in
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order to remain licensed." Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-202(a)(2)(C)(®). Respondent's
failure to comply with child support obligations demonstrate that he is not
sufficiently financially responsible to be granted an insurance producer license.
RECOMMENDATION OF HEARING OFFICER
WHEREFORE, upon consideration of the evidence of record and the

foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the Hearing officer recommends

the following:

1. That the Arkansas Insurance Resident Producer license application of
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Russ Galbraith
Chief Deputy Commaissioner

Respondent Ricky Brady be denied.

CERTIFICATION

I, Allen Kerr, Insurance Commissioner for the State of Arkansas, do hereby
certify that the above Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Recommendation of
the Hearing Officer were made by and under my authority and supervision by Russ
Galbraith, Chief Deputy Commissioner and Hearing Officer in this proceeding. I
hereby adopt the Hearing Officer’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and

Recommendation in full, as set forth herein.



THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that the Arkansas producer license

application of Ricky Brady is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS gjf/DAY OF JUNE, 2017.

ALLEN KERR’
INSURANCE COMMISIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS



