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A.LD. NO. 2019 -

CONSENT ORDER

On this day, the matter of Express Scripts Administrators, LLC, d/b/a Express Scripts,
(“Company”) came before Allen Kerr, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”).
The Arkansas Insurance Department (“Department”) is represented by Melissa Grisham,
Associate Counsel, in this matter. From the facts and law before him, the Commissioner finds as
follows:

GENERAL STIPULATIONS

1. It is expressly understood that this Consent Order is subject to the
Commissioner’s acceptance and has no force or effect until such acceptance is evidenced by the
entry of the Commissioner.

2. By the signature affixed below, Company affirmatively states that the entry of this
Consent Order has been freely entered, and that no threats or promises of any kind have been
made by the Commissioner, the Department, or any agent or representative thereof.

3. The parties state their agreement to be bound by the terms of this Consent Order
and aver that no promises or offers relating to the circumstances described herein have been

made, other than the terms of settlement set forth herein.



FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Pursuant to Act One (1) and Act Three (3) of the Second Extraordinary Session of
2018 by the Ninety-First (91%) General Assembly, “An Act to Create The Arkansas Pharmacy
Beneﬁts Manager Licensure Act,” (“PBM Licensure Act”) authorizes the Arkansas Insurance
Commissioner to license and regulate the activities of pharmacy benefit managers.

2. Pursuant to the PBM Licensure Act, effective July 24, 2019, the Company is
barred from paying or reimbursing a pharmacy or pharmacist for an ingredient drug product
component of pharmacist services less than the national average drug acquisition cost or, if the
national average drug acquisition cost is unavailable, the wholesale acquisition cost.

3. Following the effective date of the PBM Licensure Act, the Company paid less
than the national average drug acquisition cost for the ingredient drug product component of
numerous claims for pharmacist services.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-508.

2. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-506(b)(5)(A), “A pharmacy benefit manger
or representative of a pharmacy benefit manager shall not: Pay or reimburse a pharmacy or
pharmacist for the ingredient drug product component of pharmacist services less than the
national average drug acquisition cost or, if the national average drug acquisition cost is
unavailable, the wholesale acquisition cost.”

3. The Department alleges that the Company violated Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-
506(b)(5)(A) by paying below the national average drug acquisition cost for the ingredient drug

product component of numerous claims for pharmacist services.



4. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-206(13) of the Trade Practices Act, the
Company’s alleged actions are considered unfair claims settlement practices. Potential monetary
penalties under § 23-66-210(a)(1) of the Trade Practices Act are not more than one thousand
dollars ($1,000) for each violation, not to exceed an aggregate of ten thousand dollars ($10,000),
unless the Company knew or reasonably should have known of the violation. In that situation,
the penalty is not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each violation, not to exceed an
aggregate of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) in any six-month period.

5. The powers granted to the Insurance Commissioner under the Trade Practices Act
are “additional to any other powers to order restitution or enforce any penalties, fines, or
forfeitures authorized by law with respect to the methods, acts, and practices declared to be
unfair or deceptive.” Ark. Code Ann. § 23-66-204.

6. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-60-108 provides, “Unless a greater penalty is provided by
another law of this state, a violation of a statute or regulation enforceable by the Insurance
Commissioner is punishable by the refusal, suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal of a license or
certificate of authority; and a fine no greater than one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation, not
to exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) in any six-month period.”

7. Based on the Department’s findings, the Company is assessed and agrees to pay a
monetary penalty in the amount of $50,000.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND JOINTLY AGREED that:

1. In consideration of the Commissioner’s Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law,

the Company shall pay a monetary penalty in the amount of $50,000.



2. The Company shall prepare a Corrective Action Plan detailing the steps taken to
ensure future compliance with the PBM Licensure Act and provide to the Department no later
than 30 days after filing of this Consent Order.

3. The Department shall complete future compliance checks to ensure the Company
is in compliance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-506(b)(5)(A).

4. If future noncompliance of the PBM Licensure Act is identified, the Department
will take remedial action and additional penalties may be imposed. The Company does not
waive any administrative or judicial rights/remedies with respect to potential future enforcement
actions.

5. No other penalties will be imposed or enforcement actions taken based on any
violations of Ark. Code Ann. § 23-92-506(b)(5)(A) between July 24, 2019, and the signing of
this Consent Order, as long as the Company timely corrects its noncompliance with § 23-92-
506(b)(5)(A) and provides the Department with the Company’s Corrective Action Plan by the
requested due date.

6. The monetary penalty is to be received by the Department no later than ten (10)
days after filing of this Consent Order.

<in
IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 2\~ day of November, 2019.
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