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BULLETIN NO. 21-2013

TO: ALL LICENSED PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURERS REPORTING
SEVEN MILLION DOLLARS ($7,000,000)0 OR MORE IN HOMEOWNER
OR PRIVATE PASSENGER AUTOMOBILE GROSS PREMIUMS AND
LIFE AND ANNUITY INSURERS REPORTING SEVEN MILLION
(87,000,000) OR MORE IN INDIVIDUAL GROUP LIFE OR INDIVIDUAL
ANNUITY GROSS PREMIUMS AND ALL INSURERS WITH ANY IN
FORCE LONG TERM CARE POLICIES, LIFE-LTC HYBRID
PRODUCTS, OR ANNUITY-LTC HYBRID PRODUCTS

FROM: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARK. CODE ANN. 23-63-216 (b) and (c)
REGARDING ANNUAL FILING OF THE MARKET CONDUCT
ANNUAL STATEMENT FOR CERTAIN INSURERS

The State of Arkansas will again be participating in the Market Conduct Annual Statement
(“MCAS”) for the 2013 data year. The purpose of this Bulletin is to remind companies that they
need to be collecting and maintaining certain information to be reported on the annual market
conduct statement that is required by Ark. Code Ann. 23-63-216. Property and casualty insurers
reporting seven million dollars ($7,000,000) or more in homeowner or private passenger
automobile gross premiums and life and annuity insurers reporting seven million dollars
($7,000,000) or more in individual or group life or individual annuity gross premiums shall be
required to file the Market Conduct Annual Statement. The National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (“NAIC”) will send out a data call to companies on or around December 13,
2013. Only those companies meeting the above criteria are required to file an MCAS report in
the State of Arkansas.

All companies with any in-force LTC policies, Life-LTC hybrid products, or Annuity-LTC
hybrid products will be required to report data in MCAS beginning April 30, 2015. The first
report will cover the 2014 calendar year. The MCAS Data Call and Definitions for Stand-Alone
products and Hybrid products are located at www.naic.org/mcas_2013.htm. The $7,000,000
threshold will apply. For all lines, the $7,000,000 refers to Arkansas premiums.

Pursuant to 23-63-216(c), the information shall be submitted in electronic format and the
Commissioner hereby designates the NAIC to receive the MCAS on behalf of the State of
Arkansas. To submit MCAS filings, companies are required to go to
http://www.naic.org/industry_market conduct_statement.htm to log into the MCAS submission

1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 - (501) 371-2600 - (501) 371-2618 fax - www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Information (800) 282-9134 - Consumer Services (800) 852-5494 - Seniors (800) 224-6330 - Criminal Inv. (866) 660-0888



tool and upload or manually input their data. The NAIC’s MCAS Web page also contains
instructions for properly submitting the filing.

Key dates for the 2013 MCAS are as follows:

December 13, 2013 Call letters to companies sent out

January 24, 2014 Last day to submit 2012 corrections

February-March 2014 MCAS webinars will be held by NAIC

April 30, 2014 All MCAS submissions due for all lines of business

July 1, 2014 MCAS industry scorecards made available to the participating
jurisdictions

For companies who believe they should be granted a waiver, log into the online MCAS
submission tool. Within the tool there is a section for requesting waivers and extensions. You
will be able to make your request to one or more states. Requests can be made as soon as the
submission tool is available for 2013 data filing and should be made as early as possible.
Companies should not wait until the data is due.

If you have any questions concerning this Bulletin, please contact the Legal Division at
(501)371-2820 or send an email to mcas/@arkansas.gov.
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