Funeral Director License (Initial and Reinstatement)

Funeral Director Initial License Requirements

Funeral Director Reinstatement License Requirements

Embalmer License (Initial and Reinstatement)

Embalmer Initial License Requirements

Embalmer Reinstatement License Requirements

Crematory Retort Operator Training Requirements

Crematory Retort Operator Training Requirements

Crematory Retort Operator Initial License Requirements

Crematory Retort Operator Initial License Requirements

Establishment Initial License Requirements

Funeral Establishment Type A Full Service Firm - Funeral Establishment Type A Application Packet

Funeral Establishment Type B Mortuary Service Firm - Funeral Establishment Type B Application Packet

Step 1. Crematory Construction Permit - Crematory Construction Permit Type C Application Packet

Step 2. Funeral Establishment Type C Crematory License - Funeral Establishment Type C License Application Packet

Funeral Establishment Type D Transport License - Funeral Establishment Type D Transport Service Firm License Application Packet

Manager and Embalmer Agreement Forms

Manager Acceptance/Change Type A Form

Manager Acceptance/Change Type B Form

Manager Acceptance/Change Type C Form

Embalmer Agreement

Inspection Request Forms

Request for Reinspection Form

Ownership Forms

Notification of Ownership Change

Ownership Change Form

License renewal period is from November 1st through December 31st.

All renewals, either filed electronically or by paper, not received by December 31st will be assessed a $50.00 per quarter, per license penalty. Renew Online Licensees will need their individual five (5) digit Board ID No. to renew online.

Establishments Type A or B must submit the certificate of liability insurance as stated below.
Establishments Type D must also submit a certificate of liability insurance coverage as stated below-minimum coverage $500,000.00

  • A Certificate of Liability Insurance coverage with the Arkansas State Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors, Cemeteries, and Burial Services listed as a certificate holder
  • Have insurance providers list all locations covered in the description area. If not received with renewal form, it will be returned.
  • If this results in the renewal being late, a late fee will be applied.
  • Transports need the language (Transportation of the Human Dead) in the description area.

Out of State Licensure

Out of State License Application Packet

Continuing Education Requirements

You must report 6 hours in order to renew. You may carry over 3 hours for next year

Continuing Education Exemptions

Licensees are exempt in the year in which they are licensed. If you are inactive, you are exempt. If you are sixty-five (65) years of age and have had a license for twenty (20) consecutive years, you are exempt. If you live out of state and do not practice in the State of Arkansas, you are exempt. Please indicate which exemption you are claiming by writing it on the renewal form, or you can send a letter attached to the renewal form.

Ill or Disabled Exemptions from Continuing Education

If you are seriously ill or disabled, the Board must be notified and provided with proper documentation from your personal physician. This documentation must be returned with your renewal. The Board will review such exemption requests on a case-by-case, year-by-year basis. You may not claim this exemption if you are working.

Individuals please email CE certificates if not they were not listed on your renewal form.

Duplicate License Request

Request for Duplicate Embalmers License

Request for Duplicate Funeral Director License

Request for Crematory Retort Operator License

Miscellaneous Forms

Request For Approval of Accreditation for Continuing Education

Request for Name Change

CE Programs Approved 2023

Change of Address