The Licensing Division is responsible for the licensing of resident and nonresident producers, adjusters, title agents, and business entities that are soliciting, selling or negotiating insurance in the State of Arkansas. License oversees the producer examinations and investigates all resident applicants by reviewing Arkansas State Police records. It also ensures that necessary laws are followed regarding license renewals and continuing education.
Effective December 14, 2018 Arkansas is converting the Viatical Provider license types to Life Settlement license types. The PDB code and license type changes are listed below. This was a legislative change passed by the Arkansas Department of Insurance.
As part of NIPR’s recommended best practices, Arkansas is moving their renewal window from 60 days prior to license expiration date to 90 days prior to expiration date. Arkansas will also update the Accident Health & Sickness to Accident & Health or Sickness, the Variable Products to Variable Life and Variable Annuity, Travel Accident to Travel, and Travel Baggage to Travel Line of Authority (LOA) for all application types. Transactions will be turned off Thursday December 13, 2018 at 5:00 PM CST during the release and will be turned back on Friday December 14, 2018 by 8:00 AM CST.
Click here for important changes to the Arkansas Insurance payment process for exams
(Licensee lookup and Report Generator) the electronic system owned by the NAIC and enhanced in partnership with state insurance departments to more efficiently and effectively process license applications, renewals, educational requirements and inquiries.
Electronic Agency Affilliations - add/remove producers from agency license, add/remove the Designated Responsible License Producer (DRLP), or add/remove surplus lines producers from agency surplus lines license. Users Guide
Electronic Filing - information on what applications, changes that may be made on-line.
National Producer Number (NPN) Lookup - NPN is a unique number that identifies each producer entity in the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
Catastrophe Adjusters - Effective 7/31/2009 Arkansas Law requires all adjusters coming into Arkansas to adjust claims as a result of a declared catastrophe to register with the Department. Public adjusters are prohibited from adjusting claims in Arkansas.